Author |
Message |
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Ghost Definition Error
Every time I try to boot CC, I'm getting an error that looks something along the lines of this:
" Abortion in file.\System\Reader.cpp, line 534, because:
Referring to an instance ('Green Clone FG Arm') to copy from that hasn't been defined! in MDCHQ.rte/Actors/Clones/Clones.ini at line 176! "
Line 176? In that index? Looks something like this.
AddActor = Arm PresetName = Green Clone FG Arm Mass = 5 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Base.rte/Actors/Clones/Arm.bmp FrameCount = 5 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -4 Y = -3 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Wound Flesh Entry ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Wound Flesh Exit
Would someone please explain to me why it's telling me the clone actor's script is suddenly missing an arm, when it clearly states right there the 'CopyOf'? This all started after I installed B24, the Indie update. What ♥♥♥♥ is this?
Last edited by Nikhotnikha on Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:34 am |
|
|
helifreak
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:24 am Posts: 193 Location: Australia
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
It's because in an earlier version of Cortex Command there were clones in the game, they are still there now but are commented so they don't load. You will need to modify a file to get them to load.
Open up your Cortex Command folder and go to the base.rte folder, open up Actors.ini in any text editor and scroll to the bottom and delete the // infront of IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Clones/Clones.ini.
That will uncomment them and they will load when you run the game.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:11 am |
|
|
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Thanks. Saved me a whole lot of backtracking in scripts just now, you did.
EDIT: I still can't find the script you're talking about. They use the "Add" command instead of Include, and the only lines that have a // next to them are gibs. Would that mean I need to just delete the spacing that Notepad will give them? Or do I just look at it through another program?
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:30 am |
|
|
Asatruer
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm Posts: 209
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Just scroll down to the very bottom of the Actors.ini file Helifreak mention, there is a section there with the include statment described. Looks like: Code: // Actors
IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Doors/Doors.ini IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Brains/Brains.ini IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Robots/Robots.ini //IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Clones/Clones.ini IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Wildlife/Wildlife.ini IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/Rockets/Index.ini IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors/DropShips/DropShips.ini just remove the // in front of //InculdeFile and you should be good to go.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:58 am |
|
|
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
That can't be right, because all I see at the end of this .ini file is this:
Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSRotating CopyOf = Gib Flesh Small C Count = 1 Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 1800 GibWoundLimit = 8
Is the file just incomplete or am I reading the wrong section? Because I don't see those files anywhere.
EDIT: Never mind, I found the file. Thanks for the help.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:13 am |
|
|
Zaits
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:57 pm Posts: 32
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Nikhotnikha wrote: That can't be right, because all I see at the end of this .ini file is this:
Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSRotating CopyOf = Gib Flesh Small C Count = 1 Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 1800 GibWoundLimit = 8
Is the file just incomplete or am I reading the wrong section? Because I don't see those files anywhere.
EDIT: Never mind, I found the file. Thanks for the help.
You're looking at base.rte/actors/clones/clones.ini you should be looking at base.rte/actors.ini. Edit: Ha, I'm far too slow.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 am |
|
|
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Zaits wrote: Nikhotnikha wrote: That can't be right, because all I see at the end of this .ini file is this:
Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSRotating CopyOf = Gib Flesh Small C Count = 1 Spread = 2.25 MaxVelocity = 10 MinVelocity = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 1800 GibWoundLimit = 8
Is the file just incomplete or am I reading the wrong section? Because I don't see those files anywhere.
EDIT: Never mind, I found the file. Thanks for the help.
You're looking at base.rte/actors/clones/clones.ini you should be looking at base.rte/actors.ini. Edit: Ha, I'm far too slow. I'm getting the error still, even though I got rid of the commenting for that file. Is there something i'm not getting here?
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:19 am |
|
|
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Dag nabbit. Now it's a terrain file that's saying it's not defined, and when I look in the .ini file for scenes it's not even commenting any file in the name the error is telling me.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:28 am |
|
|
carriontrooper
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:27 pm Posts: 813 Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia. A slice o' paradise.
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Note the terrain file, because there seems to be some terrain from B23 didn't get ported to B24. Stuff like Richlands (which get named Rich Lands) just need to be renamed, but for other stuff (Pillars of Doom, etc) manually commenting them out would be the burden.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:04 am |
|
|
Nikhotnikha
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:28 am Posts: 7 Location: Georgia, United States of 'Murrikah
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
carriontrooper wrote: Note the terrain file, because there seems to be some terrain from B23 didn't get ported to B24. Stuff like Richlands (which get named Rich Lands) just need to be renamed, but for other stuff (Pillars of Doom, etc) manually commenting them out would be the burden. Yeah, you're right, it IS Richlands that gave me trouble. It, and a whole bunch of map mods that i'd downloaded. Scene mods had also given me trouble, like the Uncharted(sp) Lands mission, where it enables Risk-like campaigning. Build 24 must've messed up B23 original mods, too, because i'm having trouble with some of Whitty's.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:38 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
If I remember correctly, MDC has the green clone references as well.
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:37 am |
|
|
MaximDude
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm Posts: 2073
|
Re: Ghost Definition Error
Oh wow MDCHQ that thing is waaaaay old. Dump it, it's not quite built for modern CC. Get this instead
/shameless self advertising wait what? referring from something I made to another something I made is not self advertising. oh lulz
|
Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:36 am |
|
|
|