Author |
Message |
ShadowStorm
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:59 pm Posts: 151
|
Radio?(No not the music kind)
Radio's...the ones you use to call air strikes and stuff.
my question is, Is it possible to either:
A) make a gun which shoots a bullet only going up and gibs into an craft with "reinforcements"
or B) make a colorful gas grenade(I forgot what it was called, the ones that you use to call air strikes) to somehow gib in to the craft not (not at the location of the grenade though, but above it)
now, I know what you're thinking..."why don't you just buy it from the buy menu...", well my answer is cause it makes it more realistic, I mean who has time to look at a catalog when you're on the battlefield?...(oh and is it possible to remove money everytime you use either?)
EDIT: aw darn Theatre of the Dead already made one... well is it possible with B then?
|
Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:43 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
Yes and yes. Both of your suggestions have been done with Lua and .ini coding. Some results are more satisfactory than others.
|
Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:17 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
Here's something I made awhile ago that pretty much does what B does. There isn't any smoke, but you can just add some smoky gibs. You can edit the Lua file to change the craft and its cargo.
|
Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:30 am |
|
|
ShadowStorm
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:59 pm Posts: 151
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
hmm, alright thanks Grif for confirming the possibility(of b...) and thanks CC for proving it.
|
Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:05 am |
|
|
Naxete
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:12 pm Posts: 560
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
CaveCricket48 wrote: Here's something I made awhile ago that pretty much does what B does. There isn't any smoke, but you can just add some smoky gibs. You can edit the Lua file to change the craft and its cargo. I gonna stab you in da face... do you know how I bleed through the ass to get my parachute-reinforcements do parachutting? O_O anyway, thanks for the code, I hope its for public use. Edit: Its possible, yes. Smoke its very classical and (easy to do) but its a matter of past, laser communication are uprising.
|
Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:48 am |
|
|
ShadowStorm
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:59 pm Posts: 151
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
strange, very strange I tried to change the preset name and all of the sudden it doesn't work...what gives...
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:51 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
PresetName of what? Post/pastebin the modified script/code.
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:05 am |
|
|
ShadowStorm
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:59 pm Posts: 151
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
sorry XD
when I say non-working I mean the game just freezes as I enter the bombs tab in-game...
Working Version
AddDevice = TDExplosive PresetName = Reinforcement Beacon Red AddToGroup = Bombs Mass = 1 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 ScriptPath = Shadow.rte/Reinforcements/BeaconRed.lua SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Shadow.rte/Sprites/Grenade.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = -9 SpriteAnimMode = 1 SpriteAnimDuration = 400 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark GoldValue = 5 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 75 JointStiffness = 0.5 JointOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = 3 DrawAfterParent = 0 DetonationSound = Sound Priority = 1000 AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode1.wav AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 MinThrowVel = 5 MaxThrowVel = 15 TriggerDelay = 3250 ActivatesWhenReleased = 0 GibImpulseLimit = 90 GibWoundLimit = 1
Non-Working Version
AddDevice = TDExplosive PresetName = Soldier Reinforcements AddToGroup = Bombs Mass = 1 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 ScriptPath = Shadow.rte/Reinforcements/BeaconRed.lua SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Shadow.rte/Sprites/Grenade.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = -9 SpriteAnimMode = 1 SpriteAnimDuration = 400 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark GoldValue = 5 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 75 JointStiffness = 0.5 JointOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = 3 DrawAfterParent = 0 DetonationSound = Sound Priority = 1000 AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode1.wav AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 MinThrowVel = 5 MaxThrowVel = 15 TriggerDelay = 3250 ActivatesWhenReleased = 0 GibImpulseLimit = 90 GibWoundLimit = 1
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:26 am |
|
|
alphagamer774
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:06 am Posts: 1294 Location: Comox, BC, Canada
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
Errgh... Use pastebin http://pastebin.com/if4kr64vEDIT: Also, Read the Stickies. Quote: Common Error Four: Using the buy menu, switching to a certain tab freezes game.
Commonly Seen When: Playing Skirmish/Mission
Reason: One or more Actors, Guns, Crafts, Bomb, or Shield has 11 or more letter in a single row, eg: Worthlessman
How to fix: Go into the most recent Mod(s) and go into all the .inis and then find the following:
AddActor = AHuman PresetName = Worthlessman <==== more than 11 letters
Change to
AddActor = AHuman PresetName = Worthless man
Then it should work.
Listing the variables possible to find:
AddActor = [ACDropship, ACRocket, AHuman, ADoor]
AddDevice = [HeldObject, TDExplosive, HDFirearm]
Under each of these will be a Preset Name, just make sure one word doesn't exceed 11 letters.
So you would want to say something like "Backup" Instead of "Reinforcement". It's too long of a name.
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:39 am |
|
|
ShadowStorm
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:59 pm Posts: 151
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
yeaaa that is why I usually don't put don't scripts...
no more than 11 characters?! darn didn't know that.. well I'll change that and hopefully it will work...
v--ya, that what I meant to say
Last edited by ShadowStorm on Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:52 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
You can use more than 11 characters, but you need spaces every 11, such that there are no consecutive strings of 11 characters.
|
Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:59 am |
|
|
Awesomeness
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 5:02 pm Posts: 331 Location: Mekkan
|
Re: Radio?(No not the music kind)
This may help too: http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=16863&p=357909#p357909It's a mod I made. It uses a radio to call rockets down. Just modify that to do your bidding and you have an air strike radio.
|
Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:14 pm |
|
|
|