Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

3 Legs?
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=18853
Page 1 of 1

Author:  caekdaemon [ Fri May 28, 2010 4:27 pm ]
Post subject:  3 Legs?

Just wondering, Since im planning on making a War of the Worlds mod ( Jeff Wayne style... ) If it whould be possible to make a 3 Legged creature? Ive got a Idea on how to do it, using a crab and a invisable 4th leg.

Author:  Disst [ Fri May 28, 2010 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

One of the legs would have to be false.

Author:  matty406 [ Fri May 28, 2010 5:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Will there be Capsule drop pods?

Author:  Nocifer [ Sat May 29, 2010 3:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Theoretically, you could also use animations for the legs that make it appear three-legged. That way, you wouldn't have to deal with the shitty ACrab walkpaths, and would have arms. (I've considered doing this; depending on the formation of legs that you want, you'd probably want to animate the foreground leg to look like two legs, and the background leg to look like the third leg)
What look exactly are you going for here? There are a variety of possible iterations, so....

Author:  411570N3 [ Sat May 29, 2010 3:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

With Lua, you could have a pretty animated thing that followed the actor around, but to make it actually do stuff would be a pain.

Author:  Joe [ Sat May 29, 2010 3:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

What I don't get, is why you couldn't have a dreadnought with three legs designed individually. Like for instance you have two foregound legs (normal shape in front special shape in back) and one background leg (normal shape, parallel to the front foreground leg).

Author:  matty406 [ Sat May 29, 2010 3:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Here's a constructive post. (unlike my last)

Elaborating on the original idea, could you have BG and FG front legs, but only a FG back leg, the BG back leg being invisible.

Author:  411570N3 [ Sat May 29, 2010 3:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

The image has anti-hotlinking.

Author:  caekdaemon [ Sat May 29, 2010 5:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Im hopefully gonna try the Jeff Wayne version of the tripods, which look like this Image.

Quote:
Will there be Capsule drop pods?

Yep, The martian Cylinders will be in it, and will emit a Green glow as they come down.

EDIT : On a Note, how do you create glows anyway? I know its a Aemitter, but how do you use the emitter?

Author:  411570N3 [ Sun May 30, 2010 1:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Actually, the emitter emits a particle that has a glow on it. Search the vanilla stuff for "ScreenEffect" for examples.

Author:  dragonxp [ Sun May 30, 2010 1:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Depends on what you want to do with the glow.
If you want to have a glow like S.A.Ws or my Aegis's antenna, you would make a MOPixel with an attached screen effect, which would look something like this:
Code:
AddEffect = MOPixel
   PresetName = Antenna Glow
[Stuff]
ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = Aegis.rte/Images/Antennae Glow.bmp
   EffectStartStrength = 0.5
   EffectStartTime = 0
   EffectStopStrength = 0


Pretty simple. Note that you can attach the
Code:
ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = Aegis.rte/Images/Antennae Glow.bmp
   EffectStartStrength = 0.5
   EffectStartTime = 0
   EffectStopStrength = 0


To a Bullet MOPixel as well, which allows for the effects of basic energy weapons, like the blaster.

If you want to attach it you would need to make an Emitter which emits the MOPixel in question, something like this:
http://pastebin.com/jX7Ly6Lb

Then you would proceed to attach it, usually on an attachable.
Just stick this in the end of your code:

Code:
AddEmitter = AEmitter
      CopyOf = [Name of your Emitter]
   ParentOffset = Vector //Offsets of the Emitter
      X = 0
      Y = 0

Author:  caekdaemon [ Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3 Legs?

Im not sure which type of glow it whould be, As its for the Green mist behind the cylinder as it comes down. I had a Idea of using a Greenified version of dropship engine trail, but that just looks ugly.

EDIT : Is there a If statement equivelent in Cortex command ini?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/