View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jan 05, 2025 4:32 am



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Various Questions 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:41 am
Posts: 78
Reply with quote
Post Various Questions
NOTE BEFORE YOU READ: I plan to ask many more weapon questions in this thread, so don't harass me about have one right now.

Is there a way to have the power of this gun without the terrain destruction? (please note I want to keep the velocity the way it is, and I know, it is basically a vanilla M-16 resprite)

Solved!

Can you have a sort of trench coat on and actor (i.e. a skirt)?
Could this be solved with a simple attachable?

Thanks in advance!


Last edited by Tearagion on Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:07 am, edited 2 times in total.



Tue May 04, 2010 10:46 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 718
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon issues...
Tearagion wrote:
NOTE BEFORE YOU READ: I plan to ask many more weapon questions in this thread, so don't harass me about have one right now.

Is there a way to have the power of this gun without the terrain destruction? (please note I want to keep the velocity the way it is, and I know, it is basically a vanilla M-16 resprite)

Thanks in advance!


simple lua.
Code:
function Create(self)
if self:GetAltitude(0,2) < 1 then
self.LifeTime = 2
end
end


put that in a lua file and atach it to your bullet.
highly untested


Tue May 04, 2010 10:52 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13144
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon issues...
lafe, your script won't completely work, because if the bullets are above terrain without touching it, they'll be deleted. And they won't be deleted if they're shot straight up. And the altutude check is the Create() function, meaning it'll only work on the frame after the bullet is spawned.

My take:

Code:
function Create(self)
   self.raylength = 10; -- Change this number to the length of the terrain detecting ray.
   self.terrcheck = Vector(0,0);
end

function Update(self)
   if SceneMan:CastStrengthRay(self.Pos,Vector(self.Vel.X,self.Vel.Y):SetMagnitude(self.raylength),0,self.terrcheck,0,0,true) then
   self.ToDelete = true;
   end
end


Tue May 04, 2010 11:04 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon issues...
I am not versed in the arts of lua but I know that the mass of the bullet and the sharpness correlate to the amount of terrain destroyed. Tweaking those values will render different properties of your round if you don't wish to grapple with lua.


Wed May 05, 2010 1:18 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:41 am
Posts: 78
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon issues...
CaveCricket48 wrote:
lafe, your script won't completely work, because if the bullets are above terrain without touching it, they'll be deleted. And they won't be deleted if they're shot straight up. And the altutude check is the Create() function, meaning it'll only work on the frame after the bullet is spawned.

My take:

Code:
function Create(self)
   self.raylength = 10; -- Change this number to the length of the terrain detecting ray.
   self.terrcheck = Vector(0,0);
end

function Update(self)
   if SceneMan:CastStrengthRay(self.Pos,Vector(self.Vel.X,self.Vel.Y):SetMagnitude(self.raylength),0,self.terrcheck,0,0,true) then
   self.ToDelete = true;
   end
end


I would be very happy to use this, with your permission, but how would you hook it up to the weapon's code?


Wed May 05, 2010 2:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13144
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon issues...
First, copy the script and paste it into a text file, and save it as (.lua).

Next, in the object's coding, add
Code:
[tab]ScriptPath = MyMod.rte/thescript.lua


Thu May 06, 2010 9:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:41 am
Posts: 78
Reply with quote
Post Re: Various Questions
Brought back due to new question.

Also, where would you put the ScriptPath in the ini so that it does it's job (still on first)? I have tried to figure it out and have found no refuge in the wiki.

EDIT: New question in OP.


Last edited by Tearagion on Fri Jun 25, 2010 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:16 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: Various Questions
Find the line where you named your object you want to apply the script to. (PresetName = Whatever)
Put the ScriptPath line just below that line, with the same amount of tabbing as that line.
It's not the prettiest place for it, but it works and it's simple for me to instruct you to do.

Note: applying scripts to rounds doesn't work, they have to be applied to the round's "Particle".
Which is often defined within the round, especially for MOPixel particles. (including standard bullets)
Still though, below the PresetName line, same tabbing as it.


Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:01 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.044s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]