Author |
Message |
ZaLiZo
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:50 pm Posts: 13
|
How can I...
We plan to make ganmens (mechs) for our TTGL faction and need some advices on how to implement some features. We want ganmens to act as dropshps/rockets and human actors at the same time. I mean that you can buy units, weapons, tools, and deliver them using ganmen, but if someone is inside than ganmen also can fire its weapons, and won't try to throw you out and fly away like dropships do. And if nobody inside ganmen it would be a neutral, standing still with open doors and everyone would be capable to take control (ganmen changes team). Well, something like that. Is this possible to make dropship act as a human (walking, using weapon, digging, not trying to drop everything and fly up to the sky) or vice versa (human which can deliver units and fly up to the sky to be sold)? And is this possible to make it controllable only when actors inside and be passive when no one inside? Can you tell me how to do this, in details, if it's possible? Or if mods like that were done in the past can you give me a link? Thanks in advance
|
Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:02 pm |
|
|
unwoundpath
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:19 am Posts: 1279 Location: Places. And things.
|
Re: How can I...
i allready see i problum with this, if yu use this all the actors (and aa turrets) will shoot at it, thinking its a aircraft.
|
Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:05 pm |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: How can I...
Actors will attack any other actor not on its team and any actor one team -1 (if I recall correctly - it may be that non-team 0 or 1 actors are also attacked by all). So making them be completely inert may be difficult.
|
Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:47 pm |
|
|
LowestFormOfWit
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:04 am Posts: 1559
|
Re: How can I...
You can make an actor with a craft "stuck" to it via Lua.
In fact, most of what you're saying I've toyed around with on the Behemoth, and it all involves Lua to force-fit the functionality. Some stuff like dynamic team changing isn't AFAIK possible without destroying/deleting the current actor and respawning it on the opposing side.
|
Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:16 pm |
|
|
ZaLiZo
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:50 pm Posts: 13
|
Re: How can I...
LowestFormOfWit wrote: Some stuff like dynamic team changing isn't AFAIK possible without destroying/deleting the current actor and respawning it on the opposing side. OK, team changing is not so valuable. But is it possible to make it completely passive when no one inside? LowestFormOfWit wrote: You can make an actor with a craft "stuck" to it via Lua. Is there any examples? I want to see how it's made. I'm not in this lua tricks, and I have poor skills in programming, so I just want to know where I have to head to.
|
Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:11 pm |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: How can I...
I've seen a "Dropcrab" that looks like that. I think it was in a more recent mod contest -- probably the crab contest.
|
Sun Apr 18, 2010 5:41 am |
|
|
carriontrooper
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:27 pm Posts: 813 Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia. A slice o' paradise.
|
Re: How can I...
It's better to have a changing actor, which means using some advanced sparkle magic. Think of it like this: You can order a dropship, then when it hits the ground (or you press a button) it turns into an AHuman or ACrab. Maybe even add a reverse function, that is, turning the AHuman or ACrab back into a dropship...
|
Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:31 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: How can I...
Problem is that it magically heals. You could instead make the actor Scale = 0.0001, HitsMOs = 0 and GetsHitByMOs = 0, but that's a bit more complicated.
|
Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:48 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: How can I...
It could just be better to have it's team locked anyway, most military organisations would have some form of security on these kinds of things.
|
Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:37 am |
|
|
carriontrooper
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:27 pm Posts: 813 Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia. A slice o' paradise.
|
Re: How can I...
411570N3 wrote: Problem is that it magically heals. You could instead make the actor Scale = 0.0001, HitsMOs = 0 and GetsHitByMOs = 0, but that's a bit more complicated. Make a variable that stores the current HP, set the new object's HP to that variable, boomdeyada. Although lost limbs will be replaced... But, in TTGL this could be explained as the result of WILLPOWERRRR
|
Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:18 am |
|
|
Jon
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:34 pm Posts: 143
|
Re: How can I...
ZaLiZo wrote: We plan to make ganmens (mechs) for our TTGL faction and need some advices on how to implement some features. We want ganmens to act as dropshps/rockets and human actors at the same time. I mean that you can buy units, weapons, tools, and deliver them using ganmen, but if someone is inside than ganmen also can fire its weapons, and won't try to throw you out and fly away like dropships do. And if nobody inside ganmen it would be a neutral, standing still with open doors and everyone would be capable to take control (ganmen changes team). Well, something like that. Is this possible to make dropship act as a human (walking, using weapon, digging, not trying to drop everything and fly up to the sky) or vice versa (human which can deliver units and fly up to the sky to be sold)? And is this possible to make it controllable only when actors inside and be passive when no one inside? Can you tell me how to do this, in details, if it's possible? Or if mods like that were done in the past can you give me a link? Thanks in advance What LowestFormOfWit said is the best way to make it walk, I think. If it had legs, though, you'd probably have to make doors on the sides, which I think requires you to attach rockets to the sides of the ship with Lua as well. In order to make it neutral, you need to set it to the rogue team (team 0, I think), and then do a loop that makes it respawn as another team if an actor walks near it. This would be difficult to code in Lua, though, especially if it's your first mod.
|
Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:27 pm |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: How can I...
Team 0 is red team iirc.
|
Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:38 am |
|
|
LowestFormOfWit
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:04 am Posts: 1559
|
Re: How can I...
Geti wrote: Team 0 is red team iirc. Yes, and rogue is -1.
|
Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:42 am |
|
|
Lizardheim
DRL Developer
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am Posts: 4107 Location: Russia
|
Re: How can I...
Isn't rouge anything except 0 or 1?
|
Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:49 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: How can I...
yes, it is, but there may be more than 2 teams in future versions. also rouge is blush, btw. rogue is the word you want.
|
Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:33 pm |
|
|
|