View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 08, 2025 4:58 am



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 I want to make a scene with custom parts. 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Post I want to make a scene with custom parts.
I want to make a scene with custom parts like diffrent actors and diffrent moduels. Can someone tell me how to do this?


Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:50 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 400
Location: mukilteo, wa
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
Scene releases has a sub-forum called scene making and I believe they have tutorials there. I hope that helps you.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:03 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
salt_1219 wrote:
Scene releases has a sub-forum called scene making and I believe they have tutorials there. I hope that helps you.


I looked, and I didn't really see any tutorials.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:42 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
I'm starting to regret writing these things:
http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17544


Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:45 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
Making actors is a much more complicated process than you might think. Dragonxp wrote up a nice tutorial here. As for making custom bunkermodules, it's actually not all that difficult; 90% of the work is in spriting. To make a custom module, you have to have at least a foreground and material file, but most bunkermodules also use background files. For an example of this, you can take a look at /Cortex Command/Base.rte/Scenes/Objects/BunkerModules/ and then look at the various .bmp files, with three for each major module. Once you have your sprites, you just need to duplicate the formatting of the bunkermodule definition. To do so, look inside the same bunkermodules folder, and find BunkerModules.ini.

There's a series of short definitions for different modules. The basic process is as follows: Change presetname and golcost, make sure your new .bmps are saved seperately, then change the filepaths of the bunker module definitions to the new files.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:47 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
I thought he was asking how to use existing mods to make a scene, I guess I'm mistaken.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:49 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
Actually, he probably was.

So, you're more right than me.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:01 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 1627
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
if your trying to figure out how to add objects from a non-core RTE, in a scene, and have the scene be it's own RTE, that gets tricky... Its nothing complicated, just time consuming.



you need to put your scene in base.rte

you need to take all the mod content you want to use, and COPY it, into base.rte, Even if it's a sub-folder. this content must be added to index.ini in base.rte, it must come after all the normal content, but BEFORE your scene.

Then you open the scene editor, and you will be able to place everything that's inside base.rte (which now includes any mods that you added inside base.rte)

once you have it made and saved, make sure you can exit the game, reload the game, and still load that map (IE make sure it saved properly



Next comes the tricky part, if you messed up earlier, this can be hard.

you must take the mods you put into base.rte, back out, so your back to a vanilla base.rte.

CUT your scene.ini from base.rte and put it inside its own custom.rte you must either ALSO include any of the mod content INSIDE of this RTE, to load BEFORE your scene. OR (i'm not sure if this one works) make sure your scene.rte loads AFTER the mods used (so if you use Darkstorm, you would have to make it E_Darkstorm, or even ZZZZZ.rte, because it loads alphabetically).



If you use someone else's mod in a scene, you will need to get permission from them to use it. it is highly suggested that you use your own mods.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:11 pm
Profile YIM WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
dragonxp wrote:
I'm starting to regret writing these things:
http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17544


I did exactly what it said and heres my index:

Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Base Set
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Materials.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Sounds.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Effects.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Ammo.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Devices.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Actors.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Scenes.ini
   IncludeFile = Base.rte/Activities.ini
        IncludeFile = HR.rte/index.ini
        IncludeFile = L4D.rte/index.ini
        IncludeFile = MDC.rte/index.ini
        IncludeFile = SAW.rte/index.ini


But it still douesn't show up in the selection area.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:49 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
The extra tabs.
Get rid of them.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:51 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
I did that, and I get this error

"Abortion in file ./System/Reader.cpp, line 531, because:
Property name wasen't followed by a value in HR/index.ini at line 1!
The last frame has been dumped to 'abourtscreen.bmp'"


Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:57 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
Get rid of the DataModule lines.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:13 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
dragonxp wrote:
TROUBLESHOOTING
- Since base.rte is usually defined first, you will commonly see this error: [device name].ini, could not find property [property], Property was not defined.
- To fix that, you must add the main index.ini, for example, the reason something may not work is that; the effects.ini may not have been defined so darkstorm's guns cannot use any of the effects. When they are searched it will not find the property unless, you included the effects.ini and so-on.
- Also, if your just including all the index.inis, remember to either comment out or erase 'DataModule' off the top.
- Remember to make a back-up.
- If you are still having problems please post it here.


Read?!?!


Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:56 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Posts: 33
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
Lisson, I take out the DataModule on the Index.ini for the Browncoats.rte, add the "IncludeFile = Browncoats.rte/Index.ini", but I still get a error :s


Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I want to make a scene with custom parts.
What's the error?
And why the fudge do you want browncoats?


Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:57 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.037s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]