Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

ACrab Help thread
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=17839
Page 1 of 2

Author:  salt_1219 [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:24 pm ]
Post subject:  ACrab Help thread

I'm working on a simple ACrab, but when I place him, he stays in mid air and wont fall.

Could someone tell me what value I must have changed? :oops:

If needed I could post some code.

Author:  dragonxp [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

First of all.
What did you use as the ACrab's base?
Crab?
Drone?
Dreadnought?
Mothercrab?
Scratch?

Anyways, never heard of this problem.

Also, if your going to post code, cover up the preset names,
otherwise on the day of the contest, people might recognize familiar preset names.

Author:  Duh102 [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

PinStrength, do you have it defined?

Author:  salt_1219 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Did a quick test, and once I destroy the base (and only this part) It falls, so this must be the area with the error. *edit* OMG thank you Duh so much that did it, what the heck did I have that for? I didn't need a pinstrength for what I was doing... weird.

Author:  Duh102 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Did you perhaps copy some of your actor code from one of the brains? They're the only actors I know of with pinstrength defined. Anyway, yeah. PinStrength makes things stick to where they are.

Author:  salt_1219 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Duh102 wrote:
Did you perhaps copy some of your actor code from one of the brains? They're the only actors I know of with pinstrength defined. Anyway, yeah. PinStrength makes things stick to where they are.


Shhhhh :-? Don't tell everyone lol, but actually no I didn't.

Author:  dragonxp [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Well at least you fixed your ACrab.
Anyways, any of you have any idea how to move the gun on ACrab?

Author:  salt_1219 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Code:
   MountedMO = HDFirearm
      CopyOf = your gun here
      ParentOffset = Vector
         X = 5  //negitive left
         Y = 0  //negitive up

Place this somewhere before your gibwoundlimit on your actor, if its an ACrab then in the head maybe.

Maybe a moderator could change this topics name to "ACrab help" -Looking at you Duh :p

While still on this topic of ACrab issues, how would one work out steering with a jetpack, since the head doesn't rotate? Maybe I can solve this with some rocket code. hmmm

Author:  Duh102 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

ACrabs, by themselves, can't steer their jetpack. You could rig some Lua for it though, perhaps when left or right is depressed (look at Darlos's drone code for how to get keypresses and releases) add a bit of velocity to one side or another.

Author:  dragonxp [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

Actually you can change topic by using edit cause your OP
And i already have that in my ACrab, it just doesn't move anywhere.
I tried putting crazy thing like -100 and 200 but the gun doesn't move.
Annoying..

Edit: help me please :D

Edit2: Example:
MountedMO = HDFirearm
Parentoffset = Vector
X = 100,20.-50,1,0,67,2867
Y = 100,20.-50,1,0,67,2867

no matter what i put the gun doesn't move...
That was my problem originally not mounting it.

Author:  salt_1219 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

dragonxp wrote:
no matter what i put the gun doesn't move...
That was my problem originally not mounting it.

Oooh I miss understood you one sec.
You want it change angle when you aim right? AimAngle ?

Author:  PhantomAGN [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ACrab Help thread

I don't think he actually means "move," but that he cannot edit its position.

Author:  salt_1219 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ACrab Help thread

PhantomAGN wrote:
I don't think he actually means "move," but that he cannot edit its position.


Then I'm stumped sorry Dragonxp.

BTW you can't use MThruster = AEmitter to steer ACrab :( I tried, I may have to look into the lua key function mentioned a few posts ago.

Author:  Duh102 [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air

dragonxp wrote:
no matter what i put the gun doesn't move...

Check if the original HDFirearm definition has a ParentOffset, and try giving the copy an InstanceName.
IE:
Code:
MountedMO = HDFirearm
   CopyOf = Gun
   InstanceName = SuperDuperACrabGun

Sometimes offsets don't like to be changed unless you give the object a new name. This seems to happen on things that already have offsets in the original, before the copy.

Author:  dragonxp [ Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ACrab Help thread

ok ill try.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/