Author |
Message |
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
ACrab Help thread
I'm working on a simple ACrab, but when I place him, he stays in mid air and wont fall. Could someone tell me what value I must have changed? If needed I could post some code.
Last edited by salt_1219 on Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:24 pm |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
First of all. What did you use as the ACrab's base? Crab? Drone? Dreadnought? Mothercrab? Scratch?
Anyways, never heard of this problem.
Also, if your going to post code, cover up the preset names, otherwise on the day of the contest, people might recognize familiar preset names.
|
Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:52 pm |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
PinStrength, do you have it defined?
|
Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:53 pm |
|
|
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Did a quick test, and once I destroy the base (and only this part) It falls, so this must be the area with the error. *edit* OMG thank you Duh so much that did it, what the heck did I have that for? I didn't need a pinstrength for what I was doing... weird.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:06 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Did you perhaps copy some of your actor code from one of the brains? They're the only actors I know of with pinstrength defined. Anyway, yeah. PinStrength makes things stick to where they are.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:27 am |
|
|
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Duh102 wrote: Did you perhaps copy some of your actor code from one of the brains? They're the only actors I know of with pinstrength defined. Anyway, yeah. PinStrength makes things stick to where they are. Sh hhhh Don't tell everyone lol, but actually no I didn't.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:56 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Well at least you fixed your ACrab. Anyways, any of you have any idea how to move the gun on ACrab?
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:57 am |
|
|
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Code: MountedMO = HDFirearm CopyOf = your gun here ParentOffset = Vector X = 5 //negitive left Y = 0 //negitive up Place this somewhere before your gibwoundlimit on your actor, if its an ACrab then in the head maybe. Maybe a moderator could change this topics name to "ACrab help" - Looking at you Duh :p While still on this topic of ACrab issues, how would one work out steering with a jetpack, since the head doesn't rotate? Maybe I can solve this with some rocket code. hmmm
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:13 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
ACrabs, by themselves, can't steer their jetpack. You could rig some Lua for it though, perhaps when left or right is depressed (look at Darlos's drone code for how to get keypresses and releases) add a bit of velocity to one side or another.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:27 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
Actually you can change topic by using edit cause your OP And i already have that in my ACrab, it just doesn't move anywhere. I tried putting crazy thing like -100 and 200 but the gun doesn't move. Annoying.. Edit: help me please Edit2: Example: MountedMO = HDFirearm Parentoffset = Vector X = 100,20.-50,1,0,67,2867 Y = 100,20.-50,1,0,67,2867 no matter what i put the gun doesn't move... That was my problem originally not mounting it.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:28 am |
|
|
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
dragonxp wrote: no matter what i put the gun doesn't move... That was my problem originally not mounting it. Oooh I miss understood you one sec. You want it change angle when you aim right? AimAngle ?
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:32 am |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: ACrab Help thread
I don't think he actually means "move," but that he cannot edit its position.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:47 am |
|
|
salt_1219
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm Posts: 400 Location: mukilteo, wa
|
Re: ACrab Help thread
PhantomAGN wrote: I don't think he actually means "move," but that he cannot edit its position. Then I'm stumped sorry Dragonxp. BTW you can't use MThruster = AEmitter to steer ACrab I tried, I may have to look into the lua key function mentioned a few posts ago.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:18 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: help! my actor sticks in mid air
dragonxp wrote: no matter what i put the gun doesn't move... Check if the original HDFirearm definition has a ParentOffset, and try giving the copy an InstanceName. IE: Code: MountedMO = HDFirearm CopyOf = Gun InstanceName = SuperDuperACrabGun Sometimes offsets don't like to be changed unless you give the object a new name. This seems to happen on things that already have offsets in the original, before the copy.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:46 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: ACrab Help thread
ok ill try.
|
Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:56 am |
|
|
|