Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=17760
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Blaze200038 [ Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Terrain and preferably all other objects...

I tried setting the AEmitter to GetsHitByMOs = 0 and HitsMOs = 0, but neither of those affected it. After that, i tried omitting the lines entirely, with still no results. The AEmitter (in my case, a rocket that gibs from another rocket) exploded upon hitting anything.

I'm of the impression that this is possible (see the Nail Pistol magazine; it falls through terrain), I'm just not sure how.

Anyone know how to do this?

Author:  DrRibbones [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

I haven't been here for long, but I'd guess that maybe if you set the HitsMOs and GetsHitByMOs to 0, the sharpness to a very very high number, and then remove the GibImpulseLimit variable, you may end up with an emitter that passes through everything, doesn't do damage to anything and does not get destroyed.

Then again, I could be entirely wrong.

Author:  Duh102 [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Those two variables apply only to MOs, IE, Actors, Weapons, DropShips, etc.
To phase through terrain you need to have a null Atom Group, or an obscenely high mass (though the latter will destroy terrain as it goes).

Author:  Azukki [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

I think if you manually (as is done with feet) make a atomgroup (and/or deepgroup) with no atoms, an object can pass through terrain. I'm not certain about that, but I know it's doable in some way though.

Author:  Grif [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

try autogenerate = 0

can't remember if that works

Author:  Miles_T3hR4t [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Give the AEmitter a sprite, and make the atomgroup and deepgroup resolutions greater than the sprites X & Y values, it won't matter if it's hits MOS or not, the collision detection will only trigger for areas outside of the sprite where it can't collide. if that doesn't work, just double the values.

Remember resolution = 1 = every pixel,
2 = every other pixel
4 is every 1/4th, etc.

the only problem with this is, it won't collide with anything, however you can use lua to do collision detection for MOS and stuff, so it doesn't really matter.

--edit
this was happening to me on accident a while ago.... although when I really think about it... it might have been 1 build ago, I don't know if it still works... >_>


--Re-edit
Open mouth, insert foot

I was 100% wrong on this, I am sorry, I just tested it 5x5 pixel sprite, 100 resolution. DID NOT WORK.

I think it has something to do with AEmitters acting weird, I know that's how it works for the MOS, so it only made sense. maybe make it an MOS with an attached AEmitter? thats all I can think of at this point.

Author:  Grif [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth

one of them should I think

Author:  Miles_T3hR4t [ Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Grif wrote:
if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth

one of them should I think


isn't autogenerate for when things settle?

Author:  Grif [ Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

uh, no

autogenerate is whether or not the game automatically generates (geddit) an atomgroup, or whether it should use one defined in elsewhere.

Author:  Blaze200038 [ Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:57 pm ]
Post subject:  How do I make a null atomgroup?

Mmk... null atomgroup... right... uhh...

How would I do that? O_o

Also, I tried setting the depth of the atomgroups to 99999999. Didn't work.

Author:  Duh102 [ Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

This is a blank atomgroup, not sure if that's the same thing...
Code:
AddActor = AtomGroup
   InstanceName = Empty Group
   AutoGenerate = 0
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 0

Author:  numgun [ Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Hey.

Resolution = 9999999

Thats how the cool kids do it.

Author:  Grif [ Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

*the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥

Author:  Blaze200038 [ Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

Grif wrote:
*the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥


And it doesn't work anyway.

Author:  numgun [ Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?

It does work, you did something wrong.
Resolution controls how widely the pixels of collision on the object are spread.
If the value is very high, the collision is very sloppy and wont take place and thus the object phases through terrain.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/