Author |
Message |
Blaze200038
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm Posts: 26
|
Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Terrain and preferably all other objects...
I tried setting the AEmitter to GetsHitByMOs = 0 and HitsMOs = 0, but neither of those affected it. After that, i tried omitting the lines entirely, with still no results. The AEmitter (in my case, a rocket that gibs from another rocket) exploded upon hitting anything.
I'm of the impression that this is possible (see the Nail Pistol magazine; it falls through terrain), I'm just not sure how.
Anyone know how to do this?
|
Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:23 pm |
|
|
DrRibbones
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 4:18 pm Posts: 9
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
I haven't been here for long, but I'd guess that maybe if you set the HitsMOs and GetsHitByMOs to 0, the sharpness to a very very high number, and then remove the GibImpulseLimit variable, you may end up with an emitter that passes through everything, doesn't do damage to anything and does not get destroyed.
Then again, I could be entirely wrong.
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:45 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Those two variables apply only to MOs, IE, Actors, Weapons, DropShips, etc. To phase through terrain you need to have a null Atom Group, or an obscenely high mass (though the latter will destroy terrain as it goes).
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:51 am |
|
|
Azukki
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm Posts: 1916 Location: Flint Hills
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
I think if you manually (as is done with feet) make a atomgroup (and/or deepgroup) with no atoms, an object can pass through terrain. I'm not certain about that, but I know it's doable in some way though.
Last edited by Azukki on Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:51 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
try autogenerate = 0
can't remember if that works
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:34 am |
|
|
Miles_T3hR4t
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am Posts: 1627 Location: Ohio
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Give the AEmitter a sprite, and make the atomgroup and deepgroup resolutions greater than the sprites X & Y values, it won't matter if it's hits MOS or not, the collision detection will only trigger for areas outside of the sprite where it can't collide. if that doesn't work, just double the values.
Remember resolution = 1 = every pixel, 2 = every other pixel 4 is every 1/4th, etc.
the only problem with this is, it won't collide with anything, however you can use lua to do collision detection for MOS and stuff, so it doesn't really matter.
--edit this was happening to me on accident a while ago.... although when I really think about it... it might have been 1 build ago, I don't know if it still works... >_>
--Re-edit Open mouth, insert foot
I was 100% wrong on this, I am sorry, I just tested it 5x5 pixel sprite, 100 resolution. DID NOT WORK.
I think it has something to do with AEmitters acting weird, I know that's how it works for the MOS, so it only made sense. maybe make it an MOS with an attached AEmitter? thats all I can think of at this point.
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:20 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth
one of them should I think
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:43 am |
|
|
Miles_T3hR4t
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am Posts: 1627 Location: Ohio
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Grif wrote: if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth
one of them should I think isn't autogenerate for when things settle?
|
Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:16 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
uh, no
autogenerate is whether or not the game automatically generates (geddit) an atomgroup, or whether it should use one defined in elsewhere.
|
Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:51 am |
|
|
Blaze200038
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm Posts: 26
|
How do I make a null atomgroup?
Mmk... null atomgroup... right... uhh...
How would I do that? O_o
Also, I tried setting the depth of the atomgroups to 99999999. Didn't work.
|
Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:57 pm |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
This is a blank atomgroup, not sure if that's the same thing... Code: AddActor = AtomGroup InstanceName = Empty Group AutoGenerate = 0 JointOffset = Vector X = 0 Y = 0
|
Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:16 pm |
|
|
numgun
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm Posts: 2932
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Hey.
Resolution = 9999999
Thats how the cool kids do it.
|
Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:34 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
*the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥
|
Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:24 am |
|
|
Blaze200038
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm Posts: 26
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Grif wrote: *the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥ And it doesn't work anyway.
|
Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:50 pm |
|
|
numgun
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm Posts: 2932
|
Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
It does work, you did something wrong. Resolution controls how widely the pixels of collision on the object are spread. If the value is very high, the collision is very sloppy and wont take place and thus the object phases through terrain.
|
Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:09 pm |
|
|
|