Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Weapons wont categorize
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=16156
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Zephyr [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:25 am ]
Post subject:  Weapons wont categorize

Well you see, Vex finished the coding for the gun and then we worked our way through some errors, but in the end both of us couldn't find the gun in the guns section. I made sure that it had the AddToGroup = Private and it still didn't work :oops: . Any suggestions?

Author:  vagyr [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

it should be
AddDevice = HDFirearm
PresetName = name
Description = blahblah
AddToGroup = your group

AND
Buyable = 1
for Buyable = 0 the weapon will obiously not show up in the list and for 1 it will show up

Author:  Zephyr [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

It still wont work even when I put Buyable = 1
Heres the code for the gun. *Note that there is stuff above it like magazines and such.
Code:
//////////
// Devices

AddDevice = HDFirearm
   PresetName = PTRS
   Description = A high caliber Russian sniper rifle, was originally manufactured in 1941 for use against Nazi Germany. Although likely to jam and all around obsolete, it still packs one hell of a punch.
   AddToGroup = V2 Arms Inc
Buyable = 1
   Mass = 16
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = V2 Arms Inc.rte/Devices/Sprites/PTRS-sprite-gun.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -17
      Y = -6
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   GoldValue = 90
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 10
   DeepCheck = 0
   JointStrength = 75
   JointStiffness = 0.5
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = -8
      Y = 4
   DrawAfterParent = 0
   StanceOffset = Vector
      X = 3
      Y = 8
   SharpStanceOffset = Vector
      X = 6
      Y = 1
   SupportOffset = Vector
      X = 1
      Y = 4
   SharpLength = 520
   Magazine = Magazine
      CopyOf = Magazine Coalition Sniper Rifle
   Flash = Attachable
      CopyOf = Muzzle Flash Shotgun
   FireSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = V2 Arms Inc.rte/Devices/Sounds/sMilSniper_Fire.wav
   EmptySound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/EmptyClick3.wav
   ReloadStartSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = V2 Arms Inc.rte/Devices/Sounds/GenReload00b.wav
   ReloadEndSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = V2 Arms Inc.rte/Devices/Sounds/GenReload12.wav
   RateOfFire = 45
   ReloadTime = 2800
   FullAuto = 0
   FireIgnoresThis = 1
   ShakeRange = 8
   SharpShakeRange = 0
   NoSupportFactor = 2.5
   ParticleSpreadRange = 0
   ShellSpreadRange = 4
   ShellAngVelRange = 2
   MuzzleOffset = Vector
      X = 16
      Y = -1
   EjectionOffset = Vector
      X = -1
      Y = -1

Author:  vagyr [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

whait a sec...
does the mod eaven loads?
might want to check your .ini file again...

Author:  Zephyr [ Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

I thought that too, unfortunately it loads too fast so I can't catch it in time. Here's my .ini file, I don't see anything wrong with it... do you?
Code:
DataModule
   Author = Vexont and Zephyr
   ModuleName = V2-Arms-Inc
   IconFile = ContentFile
      Path = V2 Arms Inc.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
IncludeFile = V2 Arms Inc.rte/Devices/Weapons/Index.ini


I have also tried the module name with:
V2 Arms Inc.
and V2 Arms Inc

EDIT:
I got it to work, but the sprite is messed up. I know why, but I forget how to get the palette... something to do with opening up another sprite with Paint...?

Author:  LowestFormOfWit [ Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

Base.rte/palette.bmp

Author:  1nfernal [ Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

Because I'm somewhat of a nerd, I just thought I'd tell you that the PTRS is NOT a Sniper Rifle, and using it in such a way (as in CoD:WaW, which probably gave you the idea of making it), is not possible for a normal human, mainly because it's barrel weighs too much, thus making the gun imbalanced. The PTRS is in fact an Anti-Tank Rifle designed to be used with a bipod whilst lying down.
Fun fact: While a Barret M107 fires 12.7 bullets (50 caliber), the PTRS fires 14.5 bullets

Sorry for not contributing to the thread in a way you want, but I thought I'd give you some feedback on the gun anyways

Author:  Zephyr [ Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weapons wont categorize

Woah, nice feedback. I didn't know that, but thanks! Now I know more about the PTRS and I know another gun nerd :J.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/