Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Attaching using Lua
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=16129
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Kyred [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:01 am ]
Post subject:  Attaching using Lua

I was thinking of a way to attach a layer of armor to an actor. I heard that you could not do attach things using Lua, however I also knew that the Docs didn't cover every function. The Attachables class has a Detach() function, so I thought "why not an Attach()?"

So typed in Attachable.Attach(); into the console:
Image
There is an Attachable:Attach(); function! :D

So I tried it out by trying to attach a Soldier's helmet to a Dummy's head:
Image
Not pretty, and it's hard to see (behind his head, there's like 2 of them), but it did attach. However, it still rotates around. Also, I haven't found a way of applying offsets. However, I think this function might be worth looking into.

Here's the code that I used to do it:
Code:
function Update(self)
    if self:GetController():IsState(Controller.BODY_CROUCH) then
        --Finds the dummy's head.
        for i = 1, MovableMan:GetMOIDCount()-1, 1 do
             local a = MovableMan:GetMOFromID(i);
             if a.PresetName == "Dummy Head A" then
                if a.RootID == self.ID then
                    self.head = ToAttachable(a);
                end
            end
        end
        print(self.head);
        local helm = CreateAttachable("Soldier Helmet A");
        helm.Pos = self.Pos + Vector(20,10);  --Place it in front of the dummy for a second

        --This didn't seem to have any effect.
        helm.ParentOffset = Vector(-50,-50);
        MovableMan:AddMO(helm);
       
      --Attaches a helmet.
        helm:Attach(self.head);
    end
end

Author:  mail2345 [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

GAH YOU FOUND A HACK BEFORE I DID.

That aside. ToAttachable(x).ParentOffset is useful.
EDIT:
Refenced from MovableMan.GetMOFromID

Author:  Foa [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

So are Centaurs feasible?
Because I really want to see centaurs, and ridable chocoboes.

Author:  TheLastBanana [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

That has absolutely nothing to do with this. All this does is attach unnattached attachables... If the repetition there is throwing you off, simply put, no, you cannot have mounts outside of doing it hoverboard-styled. The closest you could get to that is making a semi-copy of your leg, detaching it, and sticking it to a mount. That would be lame, though.

Author:  Foa [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

TheLastBanana wrote:
That has absolutely nothing to do with this. All this does is attach unnattached attachables... If the repetition there is throwing you off, simply put, no, you cannot have mounts outside of doing it hoverboard-styled. The closest you could get to that is making a semi-copy of your leg, detaching it, and sticking it to a mount. That would be lame, though.

Attach an AHuman, and have it mimic your moves, does that work?

Author:  Geti [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Foa wrote:
Attach an AHuman, and have it mimic your moves, does that work?

AHuman != Attachable
you could virtual offset it though.

Author:  Foa [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Geti wrote:
Foa wrote:
Attach an AHuman, and have it mimic your moves, does that work?

AHuman != Attachable
you could virtual offset it though.

What about the gun ship, then.

Author:  MaximDude [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Try attaching an ACrab to an ACDropShip? See if that works propely.

Author:  Grif [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Can't attach actors to actors or anything to anything besides actual, direct, attachables and actual, direct, actors.

Though you could attach dropship engines to actors.

Author:  Geti [ Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

it would probably just gib the dude though.

Author:  LowestFormOfWit [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Behemoth says hi.

Author:  TorrentHKU [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Grif wrote:
Can't attach actors to actors or anything to anything besides actual, direct, attachables and actual, direct, actors.

Though you could attach dropship engines to actors.

DO EET.

Author:  Roon3 [ Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Attaching using Lua

Done, I did this a few builds ago:

Attachments:
ICanFly.rte.zip [1.58 KiB]
Downloaded 249 times

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/