Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

x y Overlay
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=15670
Page 1 of 1

Author:  TechnoGeek [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:01 pm ]
Post subject:  x y Overlay

Is there any way to put a CC x y grid overlay on a sprite or scene so that you can find cordinates without using trial and error in the game?

Author:  Roon3 [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

Image

Author:  Mind [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

I think this is what you are asking, so if you want to find what point the thing is at, you could attach a lua script and put

Code:
Function Create(self)
end
Function Update(self)
print("Vector(self.Pos.X, self.Pos.Y)")
end


Then press the "~" key when you select the item you attached the script to in the editor and it should print the coordinate that the item is at.

Hope this helps.



Oh. I read this wrong. Look at roon's

Author:  MaximDude [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

TechnoGeek wrote:
Is there any way to put a CC x y grid overlay on a sprite or scene so that you can find cordinates without using trial and error in the game?


Stop being a pussy!
Calculate offsets with your brain!
Its not hard, but tricky, because in CC (+) is (-) and (-) is (+)

Author:  Grif [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

CC's scene offsets are all calculated from the top left of the scene, as if the entire scene were in the fourth quadrant of a graph. Thus, an offset of 0 in X means it'll be exactly on the edge of the scene. Similarly, an X offset exactly as long as the scene puts it at the same edge, but the other side of it.

If you just look at the scene bitmap and draw lines from the top and left to where you want things, that'll get you what you need. Mind's method also works, and then there's always trial and error. Or use the scene editor to place things, then change them in the scene code.

Really there's plenty of ways to do it.

Author:  TechnoGeek [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

So is each pixel one unit of movement along the axis?

Author:  MaximDude [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

TechnoGeek wrote:
So is each pixel one unit of movement along the axis?


Yes.

Author:  TechnoGeek [ Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

Thanks for all the help guys. I know i sound like a noob but this is my first scene! :grin:

Author:  ProjektTHOR [ Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

I'm sure it's going to be awe-inspiring.

Author:  Geti [ Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: x y Overlay

oh you cad.
when you draw a line in paint, it even "offsets" it correctly for you.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/