|
FAQ
• Search • Login
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 8 posts ] |
|
How do device offsets work?
Author |
Message |
AGENT15
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:48 am Posts: 163
|
How do device offsets work?
I'm making a simple weapon mod, but for some reason I can't figure out how to set up the offsets for the magazine and weapon sprite, muzzle offset, etc.
Can someone explain what negative and positive integers for the follows offsets will do, or tell me where I can read about this? For a device: SpriteOffset StanceOffset MuzzleOffset EjectionOffset
For a magazine: SpriteOffset JointOffset (What is this?) ParentOffset (What is this?)
Normally I don't have problems with offsets, but recently I haven't been able to figure out how to accurately adjust offsets without loading the game, buying a weapon, quitting, editing the mod, and repeating the cycle.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:56 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
That IS how you do offset, man.
Set them to ridiculous values, see where stuff goes, then find out from there.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:13 am |
|
|
AGENT15
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:48 am Posts: 163
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
I was really hoping for an answer that wouldn't have me loading CC, testing a gun, then quitting and editing something, just to start the process all over again.
I'm sort of obsessive about detail and it would take forever for me to get a magazine lined up correctly with a gun, or a shell exit point to be set just so.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:47 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
AddActor = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Heavy PresetName = Weapon Tester AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = YOURGUN
Add that below your weapon's .ini file, then load CC and start the actor viewer.
Press menu + up to reload your .ini file.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:53 am |
|
|
AGENT15
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:48 am Posts: 163
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
Awesome, thank you.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:51 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
or, for what they do, assuming you can use logic (all are from the SpriteOffset) SpriteOffset - instructions to the game of how to move the sprite so the origin is at the center, basically the images dimensions / 2 StanceOffset - how your actor holds it, offsetting the jointoffset from the arm's "shoulder" MuzzleOffset - where the muzzle is EjectionOffset - where the shells come out
mag stuff: SpriteOffset - as above JointOffset - where the joint on the magazine is. ParentOffset - where to place the joint on the parent (gun)
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:38 am |
|
|
AGENT15
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:48 am Posts: 163
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
I tried the actor thing and apparently reloading the INI only reloads the actor's data, and not the gun's data. Bummer :[
|
Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:38 am |
|
|
AGENT15
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:48 am Posts: 163
|
Re: How do device offsets work?
Nevermind. I had a different ammo file and so I stupidly thought it would reload the ammo.ini file as well as the devices.ini.
MY BAD, THANKS GRIF
|
Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:40 am |
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 8 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|