View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jan 09, 2025 11:39 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in" 
Author Message

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 10:06 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
So, Im trying to make an actor explode on death. I've looked at other mods (e.g Oil Faction) and I think Ive got it, but I get:
Attachment:
File comment: Error
error1.bmp
error1.bmp [ 192.5 KiB | Viewed 2401 times ]

Line 420=
Code:
        AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Glow Explosion Huge
      Count = 1
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 0.1
      MinVelocity = 0
      InheritsVel = 0

If I remove this it works perfectly. But this is half of the point of the actor.
I think it means it cant find the original "Glow Explosion Huge"
So, I've tracked it down to Pyro.ini, I tried setting the RTE's Index.ini to
Code:
IncludeFile = Base.rte\Effects\Pyro\Pyro.ini

But no, so I copied the Pyro.ini into the same subdirectories in the mods RTE and set the Index.ini and Effects.ini accordingly, still nothing
So basically HELP! :x


Sat May 16, 2009 10:28 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 1627
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
is the name correct

Is the instance an MOPixel, or an MOParticle, or something else?

is nothing commented out?


Sat May 16, 2009 10:32 pm
Profile YIM WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:43 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: AH SHIT FUCK AUGH
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
I think i see the problem: Wrong tabs.

Code:
<tab>AddGib = Gib
<tab><tab>GibParticle = MOPixel
<tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Glow Explosion Huge
<tab><tab>Count = 1
<tab><tab>Spread = 2.25
<tab><tab>MaxVelocity = 0.1
<tab><tab>MinVelocity = 0
<tab><tab>InheritsVel = 0

Replace all <tab>'s with a real tab, and you should be good to go. I think. I put the <tab>'s there because a tab is converted to three spaces in a code box.


Sat May 16, 2009 10:34 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
Yarr, ninja'd by shook.


Sat May 16, 2009 10:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
GAH! ninja'd twice! but still, Shook is right:

Could not match property says that there's something wrong with the property, not the value. Tabbing is the problem here.
Code:
      AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Glow Explosion Huge
      Count = 1
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 0.1
      MinVelocity = 0
      InheritsVel = 0

should be
Code:
*AddGib = Gib
**GibParticle = MOPixel
***CopyOf = Glow Explosion Huge
**For the rest

with *'s replaced by <TAB>'s.

This will teach you how very important tabbing is. Also the error would be along the lines of
Code:
CopyOf not defined
if something hadn't been defined.


Sat May 16, 2009 10:40 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 10:06 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
Thanks, I had no idea about Tabs.
Now, how do I make the assplosion bigger?


Sat May 16, 2009 10:54 pm
Profile
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm
Posts: 1896
Location: in my little gay bunker
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
More particles with longer lifetime and higher velocity


Sat May 16, 2009 11:00 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
Do you mean to make it appear bigger or actually have more AOE? Adding more MOPixel gibs can get you the latter, while effects-wise it depends. I'm assuming that you have a glow effect to go along with that Glow Explosion Huge pixel; you could just make the effect larger. Explosions, however, may look better with many small fiery effects. You could use animated MOSParticles for that.
p3lb0x wrote:
More particles with longer lifetime and higher velocity

This. Bigger bang, more damage.


Sat May 16, 2009 11:03 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:46 am
Posts: 1765
Location: ..............
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making a Actor, "Could not match properly in"
Shook wrote:
I think i see the problem: Wrong tabs.

Code:
<tab>AddGib = Gib
<tab><tab>GibParticle = MOPixel
<tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Glow Explosion Huge
<tab><tab>Count = 1
<tab><tab>Spread = 2.25
<tab><tab>MaxVelocity = 0.1
<tab><tab>MinVelocity = 0
<tab><tab>InheritsVel = 0

Replace all <tab>'s with a real tab, and you should be good to go. I think. I put the <tab>'s there because a tab is converted to three spaces in a code box.

You mean on the code he posted?

The forum does that automatically.

So if I was to copypasta code from say, Base.rte.
Code:
AddActivity = SceneEditor
   PresetName = Test Editor
   SceneName = Grasslands


It'd go from 1 tab to a couple of spaces.


Sat May 16, 2009 11:58 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.045s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]