Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
How do I make concrete grenades? http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=13966 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:16 am ] |
Post subject: | How do I make concrete grenades? |
I'm looking to begin modding Cortex Command and the first thing I want to do is make some basic weapons. I figure that's as good a place as any, and figuring out how the scripting for weapons works should put me well on my way towards figuring out how the scripting for everything else works. Anyhow, I've managed to do very simple things like make guns shoot harder and faster. Boring, am I right? So, I've got a theme from now on I'd like to follow: miners. Yes, that's right. Cortex Command has a fully destructible environment, and that's something I can totally get behind. Red Faction style. While I don't plan an doing a "Red Faction" mod, I do want to follow the theme of a coalition of miners with themed weapons to match. Just to learn, you know? My first goal is to make some weapons capable of reinforcing an area. Since the regular concrete sprayer is messy, slow, and often ineffective, I want to up the ante a bit. I want a grenade (or grenade launcher) that will spew out concrete and effectively seal off small hallway or partially fill in a hole I've made from mining. I've looked at the files, but can't figure out how to do this. So, a helping hand would be appreciated. |
Author: | Duh102 [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:44 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Like, continuous spray from an emitter? Or, a splash? The second is easiest. Just use AddGib to add concrete sprayer particles to a frag grenade, like this. * = tab, because code copied from the forums usually fails to keep tabs. Code: AddGib = Gib *GibParticle = MOPixel **CopyOf = Particle Concrete Light *Count = 50 *Spread = 3.14 *MinVelocity = 5 *MaxVelocity = 15 *InheritsVel = 0 AddGib = Gib *GibParticle = MOPixel **CopyOf = Particle Concrete Dark *Count = 50 *Spread = 3.14 *MinVelocity = 5 *MaxVelocity = 15 *InheritsVel = 0 Also, remove the lines for AddParticle, unless you want a combination frag/concrete grenade. |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
I think I'm doing something wrong. Here's how I put in the code you gave for me (thanks for that, by the way): Code: AddDevice = TDExplosive PresetName = Concrete Grenade Description = A timed charge that releases a blast of sticky concrete. Good for plugging up passages and filling holes. AddToGroup = Bombs Mass = 3 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Ronin.rte/Devices/Explosives/GrenadePineappleA.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -2 Y = -3 // SpriteAnimMode = 1 // SpriteAnimDuration = 400 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark GoldValue = 5 AngularVel = 7 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 75 JointStiffness = 0.5 JointOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 0 DetonationSound = Sound Priority = 1000 AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode1.wav AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 MinThrowVel = 5 MaxThrowVel = 15 TriggerDelay = 3000 ActivatesWhenReleased = 0 EffectOnGib = 1 EffectAlwaysShows = 1 ScreenEffect = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Effects/Glows/YellowHuge.bmp AddGib = Gib AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Light Count = 150 Spread = 3.14 MinVelocity = 5 MaxVelocity = 10 InheritsVel = 0 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Dark Count = 150 Spread = 3.14 MinVelocity = 5 MaxVelocity = 10 InheritsVel = 0 I get an error message whenever trying to run the game. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? |
Author: | Azukki [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:29 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Doctor Mamba wrote: I think I'm doing something wrong. Here's how I put in the code you gave for me (thanks for that, by the way): Code: AddGib = Gib AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Light Count = 150 Spread = 3.14 MinVelocity = 5 MaxVelocity = 10 InheritsVel = 0 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Dark Count = 150 Spread = 3.14 MinVelocity = 5 MaxVelocity = 10 InheritsVel = 0 I get an error message whenever trying to run the game. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? Yes indeed you're doing it wrong. That stuff you added needs to be tabbed more, (add a tab before each of those lines) and that first AddGib line I quoted needs removing. Tabbing is very important to how the code is read. And it's not spacing, it's tabbing, so use tabs, not spaces. |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:54 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
I got it working, thanks! But I think I ought to go with a different approach to this. In order to get anywhere near the amount of concrete I want from this, I have to turn the amount of particles emitted up quite high, which is causing some performance problems. I think a better way to do this would be a grenade that, when it explodes, spawns a circular sprite of destructible concrete rather than a bunch of particles. So I'm guessing that I now need to make a sprite for the concrete wad. Or, better than one large sprite, five or six smaller sprites that can cling to walls and ceilings and such. Once that's done, how would I go about causing it to spawn the sprite instead of the particles? EDIT Sorry for what are probably some very stupid questions. I didn't find anything like this one the rather small modding wiki, and I keep farting things up when I try to guess my way through it. |
Author: | Duh102 [ Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
You can do that pretty easily as well. Just add a MOSRotating before your grenade definition (you'll have to make the sprite yourself) and make it's material Wet Concrete, like so. Code: AddAmmo = MOSRotating *PresetName = Concrete Blob *Mass = 1 *Sharpness = 0 *RestThreshold = 1000 *HitsMOs = 0 *GetsHitByMOs = 0 *SpriteFile = ContentFile **FilePath = Base.rte/Null.bmp *FrameCount = 1 *SpriteOffset = Vector **X = 0 **Y = 0 *AtomGroup = AtomGroup **AutoGenerate = 1 **Material = Material ***CopyOf = Wet Concrete **Resolution = 4 **Depth = 0 *DeepGroup = AtomGroup **AutoGenerate = 1 **Material = Material ***CopyOf = Wet Concrete **Resolution = 4 **Depth = 2 *DeepCheck = 0 Then substitute this MOSRot instead of those MOPixels but use a slower Min and Max velocity, like 1 to 5, or 0 to 3. This might backfire though, I don't know if making it Wet Concrete will save it from becoming scrap material. I have a sinking feeling it will, but so would the MOPixels in that case, so you're not really losing much. |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:24 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Well, I'm getting closer, but still no luck. I've gotten the game to run without errors with my minimod loaded, but the grenade I made isn't in the buy menu in-game. I'm not sure if it's something wrong with my coding or not, here's the latest: Code: AddAmmo = MOSRotating PresetName = Concrete Blob Mass = 1 Sharpness = 0 RestThreshold = 1000 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = KesslingerCo.rte/Devices/Explosives/ConcreteFoamBall.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = 0 Y = 0 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Wet Concrete Resolution = 4 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Wet Concrete Resolution = 4 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 0 AddDevice = TDExplosive PresetName = Concrete Grenade Description = A device that releases a flood of sticky, rapidly drying cement on detonation. Perfect for barricading a hallway, filling in a tunnel, AddToGroup = Bombs Mass = 1 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Kesslingerco.rte/Devices/Explosives/ConcreteGrenade.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -2 Y = -4 // SpriteAnimMode = 1 // SpriteAnimDuration = 400 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark GoldValue = 5 AngularVel = 9 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 75 JointStiffness = 0.5 JointOffset = Vector X = 0 Y = 4 DrawAfterParent = 0 DetonationSound = Sound Priority = 1000 AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode1.wav AddSample = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 MinThrowVel = 5 MaxThrowVel = 22 TriggerDelay = 4000 ActivatesWhenReleased = 1 EffectOnGib = 1 EffectAlwaysShows = 1 ScreenEffect = ContentFile Path = Base.rte/Effects/Glows/YellowHuge.bmp AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSRot CopyOf = Concrete Blob Count = 6 MinVelocity = 1 MaxVelocity = 5 GibImpulseLimit = 2 GibWoundLimit = 2 Sorry for all the dumb questions. Once I've done this a few times I should have it down pat. I just need to figure out the basics first! I made this into my own mod so I would mess anything up. The file pathway is set up like this: Cortex Command/KesslingerCo.rte/Devices/Explosives/ I have the .ini file in the .rte telling it to include the devices.ini, and that one telling it to include the explosives.ini. If I've made a mistake here, here's how I have the .ini files written: Code: DataModule IncludeFile = KesslingerCo.rte/Devices/Devices.ini Code: IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Devices/Explosives/Explosives.ini Is it something wrong with the way I wrote these? I think I've got the tabbing right, yeah? |
Author: | Duh102 [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
You included Coalition.rte/Devices/Explosives/Explosives.ini, shouldn't it be KesslingerCo.rte/Devices/Explosives/Explosives.ini? |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:55 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
...Oh, whoops. Well, I changed that to the right filename, and now I'm getting an error message. Arg. Apparently the problem is in Line 1 of my Explosives.ini, or at least that's the point it's crashing at during the compile. Man, this thing is making me feel stupid. |
Author: | Duh102 [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:15 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
How about you post the mod? It might be a problem with your IncludeFile in the referring ini. |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:19 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Alright, file should be attached. |
Author: | Duh102 [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Okidoke, this was a lot faster. I found all the problems with your mod. Don't worry, learn from them and you'll do fine. So first of all, and most important, you defined your concrete blob after the thing that gibbed it. You have to define everything you want to use before you use it (think: you can't eat a hamburger if you haven't made it yet). Also, AddGib only occurs within a definition, when you want to define a MOSRotating you have to use AddAmmo. Also, you have to spell the whole thing out unless it's in a PresetName, so no MOSRot shortcutting. That should get it to run, and you might want to work on the sprites, the grenade has a white outline and the ball of cement has a few pinkish spots. OH, one more thing, you should cut to the chase and have the index refer directly to KesslingerCo.rte/Devices/Explosives/Explosives.ini, it's just easier. You don't need to stay with the basegame structure and you'll likely find it easier to deviate. That might be a problem too, I didn't check before I did it. EDIT: Here's my version, I may have forgotten something I fixed up above, but I think I got it all. This file definitely works though. Attachment: KesslingerCo.rte.rar |
Author: | Doctor Mamba [ Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:22 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How do I make concrete grenades? |
Alright, I see what I was going wrong now. Thanks a lot for the help man! It didn't turn out the way I envisioned it, so I'm definitely going to mess around with the sprites and coding a bit, but I think I can figure it out from here. I appreciate all the help man. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |