Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Somethings wrong
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=13721
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Disst [ Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Somethings wrong

Code:
AddAmmo = Magazine
   PresetName = Magazine AK-47
   Mass = 2
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/Rifles/AK-47Mag.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -3
      Y = -5
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 3
      Depth = 1
   DeepCheck = 1
   JointStrength = 200
   JointStiffness = 1
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = -3
   ParentOffset = Vector
      X = -2
      Y = 2
   DrawAfterParent = 0
   RoundCount = 30
   RTTRatio = 4
   RegularRound = Round
      CopyOf = Round 7.62x39
   TracerRound = Round
      CopyOf = Round 7.62x39 Tracer
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Spark Yellow 1
      Count = 5
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 20
      MinVelocity = 8
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSParticle
         CopyOf = Gib Metal Rust Micro A
      Count = 4
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 15
      MinVelocity = 5
   GibWoundLimit = 2


I keep on getting an error saying that theres something wrong with line one.

and YES it is the vanilla ak-47 mag, I'm using it as a template.

Author:  Ov3rR1d3 [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

... well, for one thing, only the vanilla guns can use "presetname" I'm pretty sure...
that shouldn't throw a line 1 error though...

Author:  Disst [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

yeah, i cant figure it out.

Author:  Duh102 [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

Ov3rR1d3 wrote:
... well, for one thing, only the vanilla guns can use "presetname" I'm pretty sure...

Incorrect, you should use PresetName instead of InstanceName. InstanceName is depreciated (or maybe does not allow further copies), it might not work in the next build.
As for your line 1 error, I'm not sure what could cause it. You should probably check for tabs and copy the definition into another .ini to make sure a busted text file isn't the problem.

Author:  Disst [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

ive done that. nothing changed.

Author:  Ov3rR1d3 [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

Duh102 wrote:
Ov3rR1d3 wrote:
... well, for one thing, only the vanilla guns can use "presetname" I'm pretty sure...

Incorrect, you should use PresetName instead of InstanceName. InstanceName is depreciated (or maybe does not allow further copies), it might not work in the next build.
As for your line 1 error, I'm not sure what could cause it. You should probably check for tabs and copy the definition into another .ini to make sure a busted text file isn't the problem.

Seriously? Whenever I presetname, stuff goes horribly, horribly wrong...
meh... I'll need to try that again then...

Author:  CrazyMLC [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

Cortex Command isn't perfect at finding bugs, but it does it's best. It might not even be in that ini file, or just not on that line.

The problems might be....

    Is that in index.ini? Some people pack all their code into one ini file. If so, make sure you have "DataModule" on the first line.

    This hasn't happened to me, but maybe the update with PresetName changed it. It might be bugging out on the second line, if so, change the instance name.

    Other than that, I see no problems with the code. The problem is most likely in a different ini file. Did you read it right? Or maybe its just wrong.

Scout out for some problems that might be in another ini file.

Author:  Solace [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

Just outta curiosity, is that the /entirety/ of your mod?

Author:  Disst [ Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

no, thats a fraction of a weapon.

Author:  Exalion [ Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Somethings wrong

I had this problem. I've been modding for ages and it stumped me until Numgun let me know what it was: corruption of your ini file.

What you have to do is this:

say you have your index.ini referencing your device.ini (which is the one crashing).

change index.ini to reference device1.ini and device2. copy in the first 'object' of code into device 1.ini and the rest into 2.

does Cortex command crash for 1 or 2? if 1, you've found your corrupted piece of code. re-write/copy it or work around it.

if not, add the next 'object' of code. Did this do it? No? keep repeating until you device1.ini crashes. you've then found the object causing problems.

hope that helps!!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/