View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 08, 2025 5:26 am



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Weapon's not showing up in buy list 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Sorry for the seemingly n00b question, but I downloaded Azukki's gun template, and I made a copy of it on the same template directory. Now I've added it to the index.ini, but I don't know why it isn't showing up under 'Gun Template' in the buy list. Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:37 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:56 pm
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
try adding to the top part the index list. its weird.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:38 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Top part? What do you mean by that?


Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:48 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
He doesn't. I recommend, first off, changing the directory name (make sure that it's still *.rte) and changing all of the .ini's references to that new directory name. Now, for something to show up in the buy menu you need the following:

* An HDFirearm definition that doesn't include "Buyable = 0"
* An IncludeFile = yourfilename.ini in the index.ini, or in a file that the index.ini loads.

Also, are you sure that you didn't just change some variables and forget to change the sprite or name?

Try to include more detail. We can help you better that way.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:56 pm
Posts: 206
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
never mind


Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:09 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Okay, I changed the sprite it was using, it didn't contain 'buyable = 1', but neither did the weapon I copied it off. Still not working.

EDIT: I've changed the module name, problem still persists.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:18 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
For clarification: You added an additional weapon the template, and while the original template weapon loads, yours doesn't? The game has no errors on startup? Is all of your weapon code in its own .ini? If so, make certain that it is included.

If it doesn't bother you, you could just post a .zip/.rar of your code as an attachment for debugging help.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:53 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Thoughtprocess wrote:
For clarification: You added an additional weapon the template, and while the original template weapon loads, yours doesn't? The game has no errors on startup? Is all of your weapon code in its own .ini? If so, make certain that it is included.

If it doesn't bother you, you could just post a .zip/.rar of your code as an attachment for debugging help.


Yep, that's pretty much it.

I'll post a .zip in a sec.

EDIT: Here.

EDIT 2: I noticed when the game is loading, when it lists all of the .inis etc, it does not seem to notice this particular weapon.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:17 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:09 am
Posts: 65
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Can you please upload the entire Mod. It's kind of defeating the purpose without it.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Yep, that's exactly what I was thinking. :P


Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:56 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:09 am
Posts: 65
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Alright, I'm stumped. I just don't understand what the fudge is wrong with it. I've tried everything to my knowledge and the other gun just won't mother fudging show up.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:32 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Yeah I know, I did much the same thing...


Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
I noticed two things right off in your index.ini. First, one of the IncludeFile's (XK12Marksman.ini) was "tabbed" twice, and it only needs to be tabbed once. Second, the "tabs" for that line don't appear to be tabs at all, but spaces.

Try re-tabbing your index. IncludeFile's are only one tab under the DataModule, and don't have/need any subordinate code.

tl;dr
It was this
Code:
    IncludeFile = Whatever
        IncludeFile = UEC Arsenal.rte/XK-12 Marksman/XK12Marksman.ini


It should be this
Code:
    IncludeFile = Whatever
    IncludeFile = UEC Arsenal.rte/XK-12 Marksman/XK12Marksman.ini


Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 28
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
Oh, god, I just woke up and opened up CC and it's just not working, first it said there was a problem at line 5 in index.ini, so I removed that line, then that error was fixed, but now it says 'could not match property in UEC Arsenal/XK-12/XK12.ini at line 1'.

Thought process, could you just edit the .ini in a way that it works and then post it in a snippet please? I'm not quite sure what you mean...


Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:36 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Weapon's not showing up in buy list
You referenced a nonexistent .ini in your index. That's the problem that was causing the problems in the other .ini's

As you can see, having a bad index screws up your entire mod. And the Cortex Command line reader sucks pretty badly.

I fixed it for you. Make sure to avoid referencing things that don't exist. Enjoy.


Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:48 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.053s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]