View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 08, 2025 5:53 am



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 An Error I don't understand 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post An Error I don't understand
I'm making another mod, and I can't figure out what this error tells me to do, because it doesn't specify a single spot in the code.
Look at this:
What does it mean? I could really use some help on this one.
Thanks in advance.


Last edited by BEANME on Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:25 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Post the mod, you messed something up.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:34 am
Posts: 2378
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
He is trying to give an explosive something an explosive doesn't have. I think.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Okay. That was fast.
Keep in mind, the way I do my mods is I take the shell of existing scripts, and once I make it work, I touch it up from there. So.... yeah, there are going to be a lot of similarities in the script to those in Base.rte.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
That's what I do. It's happened to me on occasion. It's probably what Alenth said, but we'll have to check/you'll have to test a lot of stuff to get it working.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:29 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Er - I tried to post the mod but it didn't attach :\ Here you go.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:31 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
AddParticles = Round

That's your problem.

Just make the TDExplosive gib MOPixels. These MOPixels can be the generic concrete pixels, or your custom ones. Rather than making it gib 3 in a cluster, just have it add more particles.

Correct syntax should be:
[tab]ParticleNumberToAdd = 10
[t]AddParticles = MOSParticle
[t][t]CopyOf = Side Thruster Blast Ball 1


Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:36 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Okay, but now I have the same error :\
Here's the mod again.
I guess MOPixels don't work either -.-


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:01 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Fix your syntax and tabbing.

Code:
   ParticleNumberToAdd = 3000
   AddParticles = MOPixel
      CopyOf = Concrete Dark
   ParticleNumberToAdd = 3000
   AddParticles = MOPixel
    CopyOf = Conrete Light


Last line needs more tabbing, and to be spelled correctly.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:11 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
It's tabbed fine in my file. I fixed the spelling and the error is still there. This is really weird, I've never had this before O.o


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:14 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
It's tabbed with something that isn't a tab in the file you uploaded.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:16 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:05 am
Posts: 426
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
You where adding a grenade to the Weapons section instead of the Bombs section. However, using it causes my game to crash, lemme see if I can fix that by changing it to gibs instead of added particles...

While I'm checking that, seriously, can I include the modded Staff Weapon with my stuff? :lol: Y/N?

EDIT: Yeah, you used spaces as far as my txt reader could tell.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:20 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Okay, it lets me start the game, but when I use it, it gives me this:



And yes, you can use the Staff Weapon.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:21 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
I am thinking that could be because you are spawning six thousand pixels from a tiny graphic.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:22 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:23 am
Posts: 75
Location: Enclave Test Labs
Reply with quote
Post Re: An Error I don't understand
Well, okay, but even when there are only 100 coming from there, 50 for each pixel, it still crashes with this error... Is that still too much?

EDIT: Even 50 crashes it.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:27 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.041s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]