Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
Adding a tail as an attachment http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=12711 |
Page 1 of 3 |
Author: | MechFox [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:17 am ] |
Post subject: | Adding a tail as an attachment |
hey all Im trying to add a tail to one of my Sprite units. Im not so sure what i should do so i experimented. I basically made it this AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail and then filled the rest of the stuff to make it similar to the head Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8 Now the question is, is this correct? can a tail be made an attachment or do i have to actually add it onto the body sprite and re-work all the variables? |
Author: | Exalion [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:32 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
It can be an attachable, but i'd make the code like the coalition helmet rather than the head, there may (or may not, I haven't checked) be differences in code. But yes, you can do it. |
Author: | MechFox [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:35 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Well after i did work on the code, i decided to make it so it wouldnt handicap the unit The final code came out as such Quote: AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8 Now when i try to run it though, it keep getting an error message that line 279 cant be read. After checking the lines in Excel, i found it was one of the Micro A MaxVelocity ones for a Leg, which didnt make any sense... |
Author: | Aspect [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
you don't need to open excel to check line numbers in notepad (my default .txt or .ini reader) ctrl-g is goto line #x useful hotkey to remember while debuging |
Author: | Grif [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:45 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Ctrl G and the status bar don't work in Notepad unless you have Word Wrap disabled. |
Author: | MechFox [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Ah thanks Okay, found the REAL problem Quote: AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8 The line is highlighted, i would assume that it must be removed? I wont continue unless i know so i dont make it worse |
Author: | Geti [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
delete the whole deepgroup part and make deepcheck = 0 |
Author: | Exalion [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:40 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
what does that code actually do Geti? Deepgroup verses Deepcheck = 0 stuff? I need to know for one of my own mods. |
Author: | Geti [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:43 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
i have no idea to be honest. all i know is taking it out doesnt seem to do much against my mods, and that the files are smaller and easier to work with without it. again, the wiki is no help. |
Author: | MechFox [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement) After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work. Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this |
Author: | Siric [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
MechFox wrote: As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement) After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work. Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. |
Author: | MechFox [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor? |
Author: | DSMK2 [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Look at the modding templates stickied in mod making, the light soldier template should give you the answer, look at the code for the head. |
Author: | Siric [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
MechFox wrote: Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor? the actual actor. |
Author: | DSMK2 [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Adding a tail as an attachment |
Siric wrote: MechFox wrote: Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor? the actual actor. Aka the part after AddActor = AHuman |
Page 1 of 3 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |