Author |
Message |
MechFox
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm Posts: 27
|
Adding a tail as an attachment
hey all
Im trying to add a tail to one of my Sprite units. Im not so sure what i should do so i experimented.
I basically made it this
AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail
and then filled the rest of the stuff to make it similar to the head
Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8
Now the question is, is this correct? can a tail be made an attachment or do i have to actually add it onto the body sprite and re-work all the variables?
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:17 am |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
It can be an attachable, but i'd make the code like the coalition helmet rather than the head, there may (or may not, I haven't checked) be differences in code. But yes, you can do it.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:32 am |
|
|
MechFox
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm Posts: 27
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Well after i did work on the code, i decided to make it so it wouldnt handicap the unit The final code came out as such Quote: AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8
Now when i try to run it though, it keep getting an error message that line 279 cant be read. After checking the lines in Excel, i found it was one of the Micro A MaxVelocity ones for a Leg, which didnt make any sense...
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:35 am |
|
|
Aspect
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:35 am Posts: 383
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
you don't need to open excel to check line numbers in notepad (my default .txt or .ini reader) ctrl-g is goto line #x useful hotkey to remember while debuging
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:42 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Ctrl G and the status bar don't work in Notepad unless you have Word Wrap disabled.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:45 am |
|
|
MechFox
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm Posts: 27
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Ah thanks Okay, found the REAL problem Quote: AddActor = Attachable InstanceName = Tail Mass = 4 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -5 Y = 0 AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 6 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Civilian Stuff Resolution = 8 Depth = 2 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 25 JointStiffness = 0.3 BreakWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Leaking Machinery JointOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 1 GibImpulseLimit = 100 GibWoundLimit = 8
The line is highlighted, i would assume that it must be removed? I wont continue unless i know so i dont make it worse
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:51 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
delete the whole deepgroup part and make deepcheck = 0
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 am |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
what does that code actually do Geti? Deepgroup verses Deepcheck = 0 stuff? I need to know for one of my own mods.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:40 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
i have no idea to be honest. all i know is taking it out doesnt seem to do much against my mods, and that the files are smaller and easier to work with without it. again, the wiki is no help.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:43 am |
|
|
MechFox
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm Posts: 27
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement)
After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work.
Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:41 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
MechFox wrote: As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement)
After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work.
Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:17 pm |
|
|
MechFox
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm Posts: 27
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor?
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:58 pm |
|
|
DSMK2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am Posts: 1119
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Look at the modding templates stickied in mod making, the light soldier template should give you the answer, look at the code for the head.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:18 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
MechFox wrote: Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor? the actual actor.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:32 pm |
|
|
DSMK2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am Posts: 1119
|
Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Siric wrote: MechFox wrote: Quote: Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor. Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor? the actual actor. Aka the part after AddActor = AHuman
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:54 pm |
|
|
|