View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jan 07, 2025 12:46 am



Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Adding a tail as an attachment 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Adding a tail as an attachment
hey all

Im trying to add a tail to one of my Sprite units. Im not so sure what i should do so i experimented.

I basically made it this

AddActor = Attachable
InstanceName = Tail


and then filled the rest of the stuff to make it similar to the head

Mass = 4
HitsMOs = 0
GetsHitByMOs = 1
SpriteFile = ContentFile
FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp
FrameCount = 1
SpriteOffset = Vector
X = -5
Y = 0
EntryWound = AEmitter
CopyOf = Leaking Machinery
ExitWound = AEmitter
CopyOf = Leaking Machinery
AtomGroup = AtomGroup
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 6
Depth = 0
DeepGroup = AtomGroup
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 8
Depth = 2
DeepCheck = 1
JointStrength = 25
JointStiffness = 0.3
BreakWound = AEmitter
CopyOf = Leaking Machinery
JointOffset = Vector
X = -3
Y = 2
DrawAfterParent = 1
GibImpulseLimit = 100
GibWoundLimit = 8


Now the question is, is this correct? can a tail be made an attachment or do i have to actually add it onto the body sprite and re-work all the variables?


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:17 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am
Posts: 1726
Location: NSW, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
It can be an attachable, but i'd make the code like the coalition helmet rather than the head, there may (or may not, I haven't checked) be differences in code. But yes, you can do it.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:32 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Well after i did work on the code, i decided to make it so it wouldnt handicap the unit

The final code came out as such

Quote:
AddActor = Attachable
InstanceName = Tail
Mass = 4
HitsMOs = 0
GetsHitByMOs = 0
SpriteFile = ContentFile
FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp
FrameCount = 1
SpriteOffset = Vector
X = -5
Y = 0
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 6
Depth = 0
DeepGroup = AtomGroup
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 8
Depth = 2
DeepCheck = 1
JointStrength = 25
JointStiffness = 0.3
BreakWound = AEmitter
CopyOf = Leaking Machinery
JointOffset = Vector
X = -3
Y = 2
DrawAfterParent = 1
GibImpulseLimit = 100
GibWoundLimit = 8


Now when i try to run it though, it keep getting an error message that line 279 cant be read. After checking the lines in Excel, i found it was one of the Micro A MaxVelocity ones for a Leg, which didnt make any sense...


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:35 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:35 am
Posts: 383
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
you don't need to open excel to check line numbers
in notepad (my default .txt or .ini reader) ctrl-g is goto line #x
useful hotkey to remember while debuging


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:42 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Ctrl G and the status bar don't work in Notepad unless you have Word Wrap disabled.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:45 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Ah thanks

Okay, found the REAL problem

Quote:
AddActor = Attachable
InstanceName = Tail
Mass = 4
HitsMOs = 0
GetsHitByMOs = 0
SpriteFile = ContentFile
FilePath = Silver.rte/Tail.bmp
FrameCount = 1
SpriteOffset = Vector
X = -5
Y = 0
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 6
Depth = 0
DeepGroup = AtomGroup
AutoGenerate = 1
Material = Material
CopyOf = Civilian Stuff
Resolution = 8
Depth = 2
DeepCheck = 1
JointStrength = 25
JointStiffness = 0.3
BreakWound = AEmitter
CopyOf = Leaking Machinery
JointOffset = Vector
X = -3
Y = 2
DrawAfterParent = 1
GibImpulseLimit = 100
GibWoundLimit = 8


The line is highlighted, i would assume that it must be removed? I wont continue unless i know so i dont make it worse


Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
delete the whole deepgroup part and make deepcheck = 0


Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am
Posts: 1726
Location: NSW, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
what does that code actually do Geti? Deepgroup verses Deepcheck = 0 stuff? I need to know for one of my own mods.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
i have no idea to be honest. all i know is taking it out doesnt seem to do much against my mods, and that the files are smaller and easier to work with without it. again, the wiki is no help.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:43 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement)

After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work.

Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this


Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:41 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Out there, among the stars.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
MechFox wrote:
As helpful as it is im still left without any good advice as to how to finish this coding to add a tail. Making the file smaller does help since all it really needs to do is make it show the tail gib on the rear end of the body and act as nothing more then just for show (no handicapping the model in movement)

After checking the helment i found it was way to complex for what i needed it to do, i removed the Deepgroup bit, as well as put deep check to 0, yet it still doesnt work.

Okay im rather annoyed now, i could really use some good help to finish this

Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:01 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Quote:
Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor.


Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor?


Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 1119
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Look at the modding templates stickied in mod making, the light soldier template should give you the answer, look at the code for the head.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:18 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Out there, among the stars.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
MechFox wrote:
Quote:
Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor.


Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor?

the actual actor.


Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:32 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 1119
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding a tail as an attachment
Siric wrote:
MechFox wrote:
Quote:
Try starting over and copying the helmet code for the tail, then change the materials to whatever you want (flesh, bone, ect.) add your sprite, and attach that to the actor.


Okay, but this may sound dumb, but where in the overall coding do i write the code to attach it to the actor?

the actual actor.


Aka the part after AddActor = AHuman


Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:54 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.037s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]