Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Weird code issue (nooby)
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=12683
Page 1 of 1

Author:  teh somebody [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:55 am ]
Post subject:  Weird code issue (nooby)

So, I've tried to add more gibs to a brain actor (Pelian Armys brain).
I copyed a gib line and added it, then modiflyed it a bit and started CC.

RTE aborted :???:

Abortation in file .\System\Reader.cpp, line 530,because:

Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in PelianArmy.rte/Brain/Brain.ini at line 944!

and the abortscreen stuff

Attachment:
Brain.rar


There is the brain file where is the problem,and the line where is the problem is, is not the new gib line... :???:

Author:  TrouserDemon [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

Did you do the tabs and everything?

Author:  mrah [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

Quote:
Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in PelianArmy.rte/Brain/Brain.ini at line 944!


Usually when I get an error like that, it means I'm trying to reference a type of object that won't work for the situation; for example, if I accidently typed in "AddEmitter = AHuman" instead of "AddEmitter = AEmitter"

Author:  Siric [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something.
if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it.

Author:  teh somebody [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

TrouserDemon wrote:
Did you do the tabs and everything?


Yes

mrah wrote:
Usually when I get an error like that, it means I'm trying to reference a type of object that won't work for the situation; for example, if I accidently typed in "AddEmitter = AHuman" instead of "AddEmitter = AEmitter"


Well I added a line where the gib should be ACRocket (which is the P.A. PlanetKiller)

Code:
   AddGib = ACRocket
      CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller
      Offset = Vector
         X = -2.5
         Y = -4

BUT the error is in different line!! :???:
Here is the error line, the error is that Offest = Vector -line
Code:
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSRotating
         CopyOf = Brain Gib A
      Offset = Vector
         X = 0.5
         Y = 0


Siric wrote:
The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something.
if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it.


I think the name should not be the problem.. (and it's even the default name)

Author:  Siric [ Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

teh somebody wrote:
Siric wrote:
The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something.
if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it.


I think the name should not be the problem.. (and it's even the default name)

I have had it where the name is the problem before.

Author:  Exalion [ Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

Cortex command is being a bit irritating and complaining about the wrong line. the line it's talking about is fine, I think it's the whole trying to gib a rocket, but I'm not sure.

Author:  teh somebody [ Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

Ok, I don't really get the problem but could it be at the script don't "like" new lines or it's using something from other lines and the new line would confuse the whole script? I haven't delete any line.

And please download the file and put it to the PelianArmy.rte (make sure you have a clean copy) and check what is wrong...

And yes I'm not a coding master

Author:  Geti [ Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

no, you can gib rockets. heck, phoenix bot is based on that.
wierd error. comment stuff out until it loads, then isolate where the error is.

Author:  teh somebody [ Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

I've tried to take lines off but then the error pops out on a other place.. :x
And when you comment out/delete lines you will lose gibs from your actor or what ever.

Author:  Siric [ Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

teh somebody wrote:
Code:
   AddGib = ACRocket
      CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller
      Offset = Vector
         X = -2.5
         Y = -4

Ah-HA! i think i found the problem,
Make it this.
Code:
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = ACRocket
         CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller
      Offset = Vector
         X = -2.5
         Y = -4

I can't believe that I missed that the first time...

Author:  Geti [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

i cant believe it either. ><

Author:  Exalion [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

yep, that'd do it.

Author:  teh somebody [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

F**K!!! :x

Now it's says the copy hasn't been definied and I could bet 1 000 000 S at i have wrote the presetname of the planetkiller right!! :cry:

So what the f**k is the problem now, the script is now same how guy above has wrote it...

AND YES I'M A NOOBIEST NOOB HERE WHO TRIES TO CODE

Author:  Siric [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Weird code issue (nooby)

teh somebody wrote:
F**K!!! :x

Now it's says the copy hasn't been definied and I could bet 1 000 000 S at i have wrote the presetname of the planetkiller right!! :cry:

So what the f**k is the problem now, the script is now same how guy above has wrote it...

AND YES I'M A NOOBIEST NOOB HERE WHO TRIES TO CODE


Calm down a little, is it loading after the planetkiller?
if it is try renaming the crab if it still doesn't load.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/