Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
TDExplosive and Sharpness http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11878 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | JunkMonkey [ Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | TDExplosive and Sharpness |
I'm entirely new here, so much of the syntax is still a mystery. I was just wondering if there were any way of adjusting the Sharpness of a TDExplosive when fired from a cannon. I really just want a round that plows into the ground without causing massive (or fatal) recoil for the unit firing. I've tried inputting a Sharpness variable under AddAmmo = TDExplosive but it seems to be ignored. Any ideas as to why? (Or other possible ways to get an explosive deep underground?) Thanks. |
Author: | Azukki [ Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
It has to be below the instancename line too. For organization, I also recommend putting it below the categorization. Something like this... Code: AddDevice = TDExplosive [tab]InstanceName = <whatever> [tab]AddToGroup = Bombs [tab]Sharpness = <whatever> [tab]Mass = 2 [tab]RestThreshold = -500 [...] And remember, tabbing is important, and can't be replaced by spacing. Edit -- Actually, after trying it myself, sharpness doesn't seem to work on TDEs. Tough luck. There's probably some kind of workaround, but it's probably more complex than you'd like, and I'm too lazy to explain one. |
Author: | DSMK2 [ Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
I'm pretty sure sharpness does not affect anything other then a MOPixel (Edit!) and MOSParticles. |
Author: | JunkMonkey [ Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
Hmm... thanks. I'll have to try another route to get what I'm looking for then. Wish me luck! |
Author: | Azukki [ Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
I thought sharpness helped other objects displace terrain, but after some testing, I guess not. More mass would help it cut through terrain though. But that would also cause more recoil. Hmm... Maybe recoil would ignore the mass of something attached to the round particle? |
Author: | Aspect [ Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:34 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
I also don't really know my way around most of the .ini files that well, but I've been on the forums long enough to know that most problems can be solved by attaching an emitter that shoots out something else. So my suggestion is (somehow) get an emitter into the ground, then have that make your explosive. But as I said, I'm no master at this kind of modding and I'm not sure what you can even attach an emitter too, so I guess I'm not of much help... |
Author: | JunkMonkey [ Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:54 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
Pish. Any idea is better than nothing at this point. The concept is simple enough - shoot an explosive round through defensive barriers to cause massive damage behind enemy lines. It's just a bunker buster. I've been trying to attach a sort of 'cap' to the round that the cannon shoots, but for some reason it doesn't even register visually as existing at the moment. Nor does its sharpness seem to be having the desired effect. Code: /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // Round Cap AddEffect = Attachable InstanceName = Round Cap Sharpness = 300 AddToGroup = Weapons Mass = 0.09 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Cannon Template.rte/Images/Round Cap.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = 9 Y = -2 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal Light ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal Light AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Depth = 0 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 10000 JointStiffness = 0.001 DrawAfterParent = 1 The X,Y values of SpriteOffset are just placeholders. I'm not very certain as to how to measure their needed parameters. Also, I know some of the variables may be unneeded. The necessities of certain bits of syntax eludes me. |
Author: | DSMK2 [ Tue Aug 05, 2008 7:22 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
First: Is the sprite in palette? Second: The sprite offset defines the sprite's center, the point where it rotates. Third: Anything other then a MOSParticle/MOPixel will not have sharpness! Adding a "sharp" cap will not help. Right now, things other then a MOPixel, will not point the direction it is shot, something I really really hate about modding. But for some kind of "piercing" try doing this, increase the particle count, and increase the separation. Code: AddAmmo = Round InstanceName = someRound ParticleCount = 1 <--- This, amount of particles being shot at the same time. Mass of each of them adds up. Particle = someObject CopyOf = someObject's name Shell = someObject CopyOf = someCasing FireVelocity = 200 ShellVelocity = 10 Separation = 5 <-- Spacing between the particles So when the first one in front hits, the next one hits, rather then all of them hitting at once, digging a hole. Make sure the round gibs something, lots of MOPixels preferably... It would be advisable to keep every line of code. |
Author: | Shook [ Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness |
Alternatively, you could do like i did and have an instantly detonating TDExplosive that gibs into a ridiculously heavy projectile. This way, you won't feel the recoil of the heavy projectile, but rather you'll feel the recoil to the TDExplosive that is fired, which preferrably is a lot lighter. For example, the TDExplosive has 1 mass, and the gibbed projectile has 1000. That would, in essence, make the recoil a 1000 times lighter. Just in case, to make it detonate instantly, remove "TriggerDelay = whatevernumber" entirely. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |