View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jan 05, 2025 2:45 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 TDExplosive and Sharpness 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:37 pm
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post TDExplosive and Sharpness
I'm entirely new here, so much of the syntax is still a mystery. I was just wondering if there were any way of adjusting the Sharpness of a TDExplosive when fired from a cannon.
I really just want a round that plows into the ground without causing massive (or fatal) recoil for the unit firing.
I've tried inputting a Sharpness variable under AddAmmo = TDExplosive but it seems to be ignored.
Any ideas as to why? (Or other possible ways to get an explosive deep underground?)
Thanks.


Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
It has to be below the instancename line too. For organization, I also recommend putting it below the categorization.

Something like this...
Code:
AddDevice = TDExplosive
[tab]InstanceName = <whatever>
[tab]AddToGroup = Bombs
[tab]Sharpness = <whatever>
[tab]Mass = 2
[tab]RestThreshold = -500
[...]

And remember, tabbing is important, and can't be replaced by spacing.

Edit -- Actually, after trying it myself, sharpness doesn't seem to work on TDEs. Tough luck. There's probably some kind of workaround, but it's probably more complex than you'd like, and I'm too lazy to explain one.


Last edited by Azukki on Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:03 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 1119
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
I'm pretty sure sharpness does not affect anything other then a MOPixel (Edit!) and MOSParticles.


Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:37 pm
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
Hmm... thanks. I'll have to try another route to get what I'm looking for then.
Wish me luck!


Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
I thought sharpness helped other objects displace terrain, but after some testing, I guess not.

More mass would help it cut through terrain though. But that would also cause more recoil.
Hmm... Maybe recoil would ignore the mass of something attached to the round particle?


Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:35 am
Posts: 383
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
I also don't really know my way around most of the .ini files that well, but I've been on the forums long enough to know that most problems can be solved by attaching an emitter that shoots out something else. So my suggestion is (somehow) get an emitter into the ground, then have that make your explosive. But as I said, I'm no master at this kind of modding and I'm not sure what you can even attach an emitter too, so I guess I'm not of much help...


Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:37 pm
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
Pish. Any idea is better than nothing at this point.
The concept is simple enough - shoot an explosive round through defensive barriers to cause massive damage behind enemy lines. It's just a bunker buster.

I've been trying to attach a sort of 'cap' to the round that the cannon shoots, but for some reason it doesn't even register visually as existing at the moment. Nor does its sharpness seem to be having the desired effect.

Code:
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Round Cap

AddEffect = Attachable
   InstanceName = Round Cap
   Sharpness = 300
   AddToGroup = Weapons
   Mass = 0.09
   HitsMOs = 1
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Cannon Template.rte/Images/Round Cap.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = 9
      Y = -2
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal Light
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal Light
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Depth = 0
   DeepCheck = 0
   JointStrength = 10000
   JointStiffness = 0.001
   DrawAfterParent = 1


The X,Y values of SpriteOffset are just placeholders. I'm not very certain as to how to measure their needed parameters. Also, I know some of the variables may be unneeded. The necessities of certain bits of syntax eludes me.


Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:54 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 1119
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
First: Is the sprite in palette?
Second: The sprite offset defines the sprite's center, the point where it rotates.
Third: Anything other then a MOSParticle/MOPixel will not have sharpness! Adding a "sharp" cap will not help.

Right now, things other then a MOPixel, will not point the direction it is shot, something I really really hate about modding. But for some kind of "piercing" try doing this, increase the particle count, and increase the separation.

Code:
AddAmmo = Round
   InstanceName = someRound
   ParticleCount = 1        <--- This, amount of particles being shot at the same time. Mass of each of them adds up.
   Particle = someObject
      CopyOf = someObject's name
   Shell = someObject
      CopyOf = someCasing
   FireVelocity = 200
   ShellVelocity = 10
   Separation = 5           <-- Spacing between the particles


So when the first one in front hits, the next one hits, rather then all of them hitting at once, digging a hole. Make sure the round gibs something, lots of MOPixels preferably...

It would be advisable to keep every line of code.


Tue Aug 05, 2008 7:22 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:43 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: AH SHIT FUCK AUGH
Reply with quote
Post Re: TDExplosive and Sharpness
Alternatively, you could do like i did and have an instantly detonating TDExplosive
that gibs into a ridiculously heavy projectile. This way, you won't feel the recoil
of the heavy projectile, but rather you'll feel the recoil to the TDExplosive that
is fired, which preferrably is a lot lighter.
For example, the TDExplosive has 1 mass, and the gibbed projectile has 1000.
That would, in essence, make the recoil a 1000 times lighter.
Just in case, to make it detonate instantly, remove "TriggerDelay = whatevernumber" entirely.


Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:38 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.034s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]