Author |
Message |
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Attachments
ohkay, first actual question from me. im trying to attach something to an arm, and i want to do it in the actor code, but for some reason it attaches to the head, even when its obviously tabbed into the arms code. heres a snippet Code: FGArm = Arm CopyOf = Base Arm FG InstanceName = Base Arm FG Att ParentOffset = Vector X = -4 Y = -6 AddAttachable = Attachable CopyOf = Base Guard ParentOffset = Vector X = 30 Y = -30 DrawAfterParent = 1 should i just try attaching it to a copy of the arm actor instead of in the ahuman actor? because i see no reason why it should attach to the head here.. the head is above the arm in the code. also i know the vector is insanely innacurate, i just wanted it to attach first so i could fiddle later. i want it to attach to the upper arm btw.
|
Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:35 am |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Attachments
You're sure it's attaching to the head? The arm makes the same rotation movements as the head does. Try it with the offsets at 0 to make sure.
|
Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:47 am |
|
|
fyher
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:09 am Posts: 239 Location: The land of Pwnt
|
Re: Attachments
attach it in the arm code, so your sure, and if you dont wanna, fix the offsets.
|
Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:41 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Attachments
Since your offsets are not right, they may just be raised and appear to be attached to the head, but really isn't. Try what Tim said, It might have been attached to the arm all along.
|
Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:44 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Attachments
ohkay, i removed the offsets and now it appears to be glued to his chin. even if i move it so its attached properly to the arm, it will rotate away when i look around. is there a way to attach something to an actors arm properly, so it functions like armour?
|
Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:47 am |
|
|
fyher
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:09 am Posts: 239 Location: The land of Pwnt
|
Re: Attachments
if you want the piece to protect the arm wouldn't be best to put it in the arm code?
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 3:21 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Attachments
i am essentially doing just that, im doing it to a copy of the arm to make the original arm reusable though, should i do it outside the AHuman code? could someone who has done this before give me some hints on how they did it? i should have a look at the Crobo code too i think,, though they might not have attachables i cant remember. ><
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:38 am |
|
|
fyher
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:09 am Posts: 239 Location: The land of Pwnt
|
Re: Attachments
i think the mpam has some arm attachables so check that out maybe. Also, you you can just copy paste the code for the arm you want and change the instance name to armored arm and you don't need to make a copy. You just add the attachable code in there and your set.
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 4:39 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Attachments
Arm sprites moving doesn't change the hitbox. The only actual physical movement is the offset/limbpath coding, and I'm pretty sure that attachables on an arm would not move with the arm.
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:53 pm |
|
|
3 solid
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:02 pm Posts: 1639 Location: Somewhere. Nowhere.
|
Re: Attachments
Would adding the attachables to the head on purpose work?
The head and the arms do move at the same time.
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:06 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Attachments
More like the head and the gun move at the same time.
The arms just go through a set of frames.
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:09 pm |
|
|
fyher
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:09 am Posts: 239 Location: The land of Pwnt
|
Re: Attachments
I tried adding an attachable to the arms, thy move with the head, gunna try drawafterparent=0.
EDIT: nope, as far as i know, you can't get it to follow the arm.
|
Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:12 pm |
|
|
|