Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11455 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Gotcha! [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Hi peeps, A question for the advanced modders on this forum; Would it be possible to create an object, let's say, a concrete block as an example, emit particles without something shooting at it? What I would like to make is a small mining platform that releases gold particles once in a while so people will have a slow but endless income. I'd like to know if such a thing is even possible since I dunno where to begin. |
Author: | Alenth Eneil [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:25 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
With a wound or an emitter attacged by some manner. The wounds being the old way. |
Author: | No_0ne [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Give it an emitter with a very slow emission rate, make that emitter emit another emitter that emits gold. Simple. |
Author: | Gotcha! [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Thanks, I'll go see if I can make this work. |
Author: | Azukki [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:12 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Wait, so why couldn't you just put a pinned AEmitter as a child object of the bunker module block...? |
Author: | numgun [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way. |
Author: | Alenth Eneil [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
numgun wrote: Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way. Thank god I am not the only one who does not believe in unparented emitters. PS: No_0ne is crazy, just make the first emitter emit gold. |
Author: | No_0ne [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Alenth Eneil wrote: numgun wrote: Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way. Thank god I am not the only one who does not believe in unparented emitters. PS: No_0ne is crazy, just make the first emitter emit gold. He wants the emitter to start and stop at intervals, like a geyser. Make the first one emit an emitter with a short lifetime every minute or so would achieve that effect. The way you're suggesting would make the flow constant. |
Author: | Grif [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Or use Bursts. |
Author: | Taehl [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Forgive me for reviving a month-old topic, but I think this thread has just the answer I need... I just don't understand it. I'm a newb to modding CC, so please forgive me. How do I give a bunker piece an emitter? I'm trying to make a light which actually glows. What would I add to this code? Code: AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject InstanceName = Lamp AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco GoldCost = 1 FGColorFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp MaterialFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp BGColorFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp BitmapOffset = Vector X=0 Y=-6 |
Author: | Mind [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:10 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Code: AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject InstanceName = Lamp AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco GoldCost = 1 FGColorFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp MaterialFile = ContentFile Path =TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp BGColorFile = ContentFile Path =TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp BitmapOffset = Vector X=0 Y=-6 AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = [your emitter] ParentOffset = Vector X = [whatever] Y = [whatever] |
Author: | Taehl [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:47 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
OK, thank you. And then I would need some more code to say what my AEmitter is, probably starting with "AddEffect = AEmitter", right? Sorry to be asking such newbish questions, but the CC wiki has a big, gaping hole instead of the AEmitter page. So... What do I do with this? Code: AddEffect = AEmitter ScreenEffect = ContentFile FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp Also, and I'm assuming I'm at fault, but when I try to use that code to "AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = Rocket Main Thruster" (as a test), the game crashes when it loads my mod, complaining it can't match a property. |
Author: | Mind [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:23 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Taehl wrote: OK, thank you. And then I would need some more code to say what my AEmitter is, probably starting with "AddEffect = AEmitter", right? Sorry to be asking such newbish questions, but the CC wiki has a big, gaping hole instead of the AEmitter page. So... What do I do with this? Code: AddEffect = AEmitter ScreenEffect = ContentFile FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp Also, and I'm assuming I'm at fault, but when I try to use that code to "AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = Rocket Main Thruster" (as a test), the game crashes when it loads my mod, complaining it can't match a property. Post the error, and I wouldn't do the addeffect part of it |
Author: | Taehl [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:41 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
Quote: Abortion in file .\System\Reader.cpp, line 439 because: Could not match proerty in TBunkerTiles.rte/tbtdeco.ini at line 303! The last frame has been dumped to 'abortscreen.bmp' EDIT: Nevermind my question now. I figured it out: Code: AddEffect = MOSParticle InstanceName = light1 Mass = 1 PinStrength = 50000 Sharpness = 0 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Base.rte/null.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = 0 Y = 0 AngularVel = 0 ScreenEffect = ContentFile FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp EffectStartTime = 0 EffectStopTime = 9000 EffectStartStrength = 1.0 EffectStopStrength = 1.0 AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject InstanceName = Lamp AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco GoldCost = 1 FGColorFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp MaterialFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp BGColorFile = ContentFile Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp BitmapOffset = Vector X=0 Y=-6 AddChildObject = SOPlacer PlacedObject = MOSParticle CopyOf = light1 // Offset = Vector makes it disappear? Strange... // X = 12 // Y = 1 Now all I need to figure out is how to make the particle last forever. Or at least a few hours. |
Author: | Lord Tim [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:56 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals |
As long as it's pinned, doesn't have a lifetime/impulselimit, and is made of something strong, and you don't hit it with objects that have masses in the millions, it shouldn't go away. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |