Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11455
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Gotcha! [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Hi peeps,

A question for the advanced modders on this forum;
Would it be possible to create an object, let's say, a concrete block as an example, emit particles without something shooting at it?

What I would like to make is a small mining platform that releases gold particles once in a while so people will have a slow but endless income.
I'd like to know if such a thing is even possible since I dunno where to begin. :)

Author:  Alenth Eneil [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

With a wound or an emitter attacged by some manner. The wounds being the old way.

Author:  No_0ne [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Give it an emitter with a very slow emission rate, make that emitter emit another emitter that emits gold.

Simple.

Author:  Gotcha! [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Thanks, I'll go see if I can make this work. :)

Author:  Azukki [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Wait, so why couldn't you just put a pinned AEmitter as a child object of the bunker module block...?

Author:  numgun [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way.

Author:  Alenth Eneil [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

numgun wrote:
Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way.


Thank god I am not the only one who does not believe in unparented emitters.

PS: No_0ne is crazy, just make the first emitter emit gold.

Author:  No_0ne [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Alenth Eneil wrote:
numgun wrote:
Just a small advice, use MOSR with an attached emitter instead of a bare emitter, they seem to be more reliable that way.


Thank god I am not the only one who does not believe in unparented emitters.

PS: No_0ne is crazy, just make the first emitter emit gold.


He wants the emitter to start and stop at intervals, like a geyser. Make the first one emit an emitter with a short lifetime every minute or so would achieve that effect. The way you're suggesting would make the flow constant.

Author:  Grif [ Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Or use Bursts.

Author:  Taehl [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Forgive me for reviving a month-old topic, but I think this thread has just the answer I need... I just don't understand it. I'm a newb to modding CC, so please forgive me.

How do I give a bunker piece an emitter? I'm trying to make a light which actually glows. What would I add to this code?

Code:
AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject
   InstanceName = Lamp
   AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco
   GoldCost = 1
   FGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp
   MaterialFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp
   BGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp
   BitmapOffset = Vector
      X=0
      Y=-6

Author:  Mind [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Code:
AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject
   InstanceName = Lamp
   AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco
   GoldCost = 1
   FGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp
   MaterialFile = ContentFile
      Path =TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp
   BGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path =TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp
   BitmapOffset = Vector
      X=0
      Y=-6
    AddEmitter = AEmitter
              CopyOf = [your emitter]
               ParentOffset = Vector
                          X = [whatever]
                          Y = [whatever]

Author:  Taehl [ Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

OK, thank you. And then I would need some more code to say what my AEmitter is, probably starting with "AddEffect = AEmitter", right? Sorry to be asking such newbish questions, but the CC wiki has a big, gaping hole instead of the AEmitter page.

So... What do I do with this?
Code:
AddEffect = AEmitter
   ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp


Also, and I'm assuming I'm at fault, but when I try to use that code to "AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = Rocket Main Thruster" (as a test), the game crashes when it loads my mod, complaining it can't match a property.

Author:  Mind [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Taehl wrote:
OK, thank you. And then I would need some more code to say what my AEmitter is, probably starting with "AddEffect = AEmitter", right? Sorry to be asking such newbish questions, but the CC wiki has a big, gaping hole instead of the AEmitter page.

So... What do I do with this?
Code:
AddEffect = AEmitter
   ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp


Also, and I'm assuming I'm at fault, but when I try to use that code to "AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = Rocket Main Thruster" (as a test), the game crashes when it loads my mod, complaining it can't match a property.

Post the error, and I wouldn't do the addeffect part of it

Author:  Taehl [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

Quote:
Abortion in file .\System\Reader.cpp, line 439 because:

Could not match proerty in TBunkerTiles.rte/tbtdeco.ini at line 303!

The last frame has been dumped to 'abortscreen.bmp'


EDIT: Nevermind my question now. I figured it out:
Code:
AddEffect = MOSParticle
   InstanceName = light1
   Mass = 1
   PinStrength = 50000
   Sharpness = 0
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Base.rte/null.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 0
   AngularVel = 0
   ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = TBunkerTiles.rte/light1.bmp
   EffectStartTime = 0
   EffectStopTime = 9000
   EffectStartStrength = 1.0
   EffectStopStrength = 1.0

AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject
   InstanceName = Lamp
   AddToGroup = Bunker Tiles Deco
   GoldCost = 1
   FGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1f.bmp
   MaterialFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1m.bmp
   BGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = TBunkerTiles.rte/deco/light1b.bmp
   BitmapOffset = Vector
      X=0
      Y=-6
   AddChildObject = SOPlacer
      PlacedObject = MOSParticle
         CopyOf = light1
//      Offset = Vector    makes it disappear? Strange...
//         X = 12
//         Y = 1

Now all I need to figure out is how to make the particle last forever. Or at least a few hours.

Author:  Lord Tim [ Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Have bunker pieces emit particles at intervals

As long as it's pinned, doesn't have a lifetime/impulselimit, and is made of something strong, and you don't hit it with objects that have masses in the millions, it shouldn't go away.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/