View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 28, 2024 3:56 pm



Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Help with my first mod. 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:10 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Kettenkrad your sprite works, but there is no magazine showing.
But the sprite of the AA12 itself works like a charm.
Offsets could be a bit better but hey, first weapon. :)


Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:23 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 1198
Location: Sydney
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
I just put in it palette, sorry if I wasn't clear enough. Try this.
Just looked at the code, and it seems that your magazine isn't showing up because it's not defined under the HDFirearm's magazine CopyOf. Here where you've got:
Code:
   Magazine = Magazine
      CopyOf = Magazine Shotgun
Just put CopyOf = AA12 Magazine.

EDIT: As for the offsets, this might help.


Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:28 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:10 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Thanks for everything Kettenkrad, this was very helpfull and i will see to change the code.

P.S. I used that Tutorial, i am just not so good at it.


Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:39 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:10 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
I got everything to work except one thing, When i turn left with the aa 12 the Magazine turns into like stripes and all.

Can anyone help me? thanks.


Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 1972
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
That's also a palette issue I've been told.


Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:43 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: AH SHIT FUCK AUGH
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Sounds like a palette problem again. I recommend getting GraphicsGale for spriting, since it's really good for the purpose. And free.

To put your sprites in palette, either start out by opening up palette.bmp inside Base.rte, making the sprite from there and saving it elsewhere, or copy-paste your non-palette sprite into the palette image, then save it elsewhere. You may have to enlarge the palette image for that, but you can always crop it later.

Edit: dammit gotcha where did you get that ninja training?


Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:26 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:10 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Thanks everyone, i just love this community.
I know that of o have a question i can always ask somebody.

Thanks. (A starting modder wich will probably come back here with a lot of questions.)

(Edit): Alright Asklar, will keep that in mind.


Last edited by Pownani on Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Oct 08, 2011 2:07 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Friendly tip:
Use the edit button instead of posting twice (or three times). It's not that I have problems with it, but moderators do have them.


Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:31 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 1545
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
The palette they are all refering to is the palette that all sprites have to be in. CC has a limited selection of colours that it can render properly, everything else will look strange as CC tries to find colours it doesn't know. The palette file is in base.rte.
Here is a tutorial on how to put the palette into GIMP.

Also, if you want to animate your gun:
Instead of having one sprite, make multiple(for example, one with the breach open and the other with the breach closed.) and name them ****.bmp000 and ****.bmp001. The first one will have the breach closed and the second would have it opened up. Then set the Framecount back to two and you have an animated sprite.

Also, the shotgunload.lua makes shotguns reload shell by shell, which is kinda useless in a AA-12.


Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:58 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Bud, you placed the 000 in the extension (****.bmp000).
You name the sprite with the number before the extension (****000.bmp or AA12000.bmp).
Then keep increasing the counter (AA12000.bmp, AA12001.bmp, AA12002.bmp, etc.).


Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:02 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 1545
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Oops my bad, Asklar is completly right.


Mon Oct 10, 2011 3:39 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:10 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post Re: Help with my first mod.
Thanks Asklar and Maart3n


Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.038s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]