Author |
Message |
Gedou
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:38 pm Posts: 17 Location: Prague
|
Re: Factories
Ok I think what Krumbs said is true....still this was just an idea and I am happy that atleast someone was interested. Thanks for all replies
|
Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:12 pm |
|
|
molemian
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 8:12 am Posts: 61 Location: sweden
|
Re: Factories
just a question: wouldnt it be possible to pin a rocket to the roof of a bunkerpiece and then use its thrusters to create stuff? i thought of by using its 4 thrusters it could be able to spawn 4 different things by launching a grenade that gibs into the thing you have set it to gib..... dont get mad at me if you dont like the idea, i found it in the Klonecannon mod where someone talked about using the cannons/rockets thrusters to spawn grenades in front of the opening.....
|
Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:58 am |
|
|
FireBlizzard
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:08 pm Posts: 533 Location: In hells Ironic Punishment Department (Canada, ON)
|
Re: Factories
---NVM---
|
Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:16 pm |
|
|
Gedou
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:38 pm Posts: 17 Location: Prague
|
Re: Factories
Mole. Its a really good idea but too complicated.
|
Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:24 pm |
|
|
NeoSeeker
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:13 am Posts: 1183 Location: eating sock's face like a cupcake
|
Re: Factories
yes, you can actually, just the equipment wouldn't cost any money to produce, the factory however would be placed for a hefty fee. All you'd need to do would be to create a bunker prefab much like this or something: and in those slots you place craft with a premise similar to the clone factory or those old weapons dispensers. And make them dispense actors and weapons, and elongate the bunker and include more slots with dispensers to accommodate more options. You might, however be able to make a craft with negative health appear in the return zone above the map every time a weapon is produced... that might subtract money.
|
Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:59 am |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Factories
The thing with the negative-costing craft would stuff up the loss counter a lot though.
|
Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:35 am |
|
|
Alenth Eneil
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:34 am Posts: 2378
|
Re: Factories
Exalion wrote: The thing with the negative-costing craft would stuff up the loss counter a lot though. Returning stuff isn't supposed to add to losses. I think that would get fixed.
|
Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:55 pm |
|
|
eternjc
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:31 pm Posts: 81
|
Re: Factories
I've been dead for a while ... but i got better!
This is interesting. I designed the clone-farm, but mostly by merging other people's code. If we went with Lua, how might you code, say, a gun to deduct funds when shot?
In theory, you could: -Make an Actor into a factory. -Make multiple guns which shoot fully equipped units, at a cost. -Give each gun a distinct visual "flair" for easy distinguishing. -Give them to the "factory". - ... Voila! A factory that builds whatever you need, deep within your bunker.
Someone mentioned guns aren't lua-enabled yet, is that so?
|
Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:05 am |
|
|
NeoSeeker
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:13 am Posts: 1183 Location: eating sock's face like a cupcake
|
Re: Factories
eternjc wrote: ] Someone mentioned guns aren't lua-enabled yet, is that so? only missions are
|
Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:25 am |
|
|
eternjc
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:31 pm Posts: 81
|
Re: Factories
wow ...
I think I might just crawl back in my hole and disappear again, then. I guess. Unless the whole launching-invisible-negative-cost-dropships-into-the-great-spacious-void is feasible. That seems clever, but awfully glitchy.
This is sorta embarrassing, but ... anyone have the Clone-farm as an individual file? Guess I'll do a search ...
|
Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:44 pm |
|
|
numgun
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm Posts: 2932
|
Re: Factories
Just make each gun shoot the amount of negative mass gold particles at the factory when it fires the gun to "buy" an item.
Look at the coalition's sniper code. It shows a nice example how to use an emitter to launch multiple particles at once.
|
Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:52 pm |
|
|
eternjc
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:31 pm Posts: 81
|
Re: Factories
Wow, that works?! Thanks numgum. I'll do some testing and see what we get.
EDIT: Ok, I'm getting somewhere. I understand how the sniper rifle uses the Shell of a Round to fire different things. How would I fire that Shell vertically up? And am I right that the gold-bullet would need to hit an actor, not just his gun?
Also, my negative mass bullets are giving me money. Though, that might be cause I'm using Rounds, not just particles.
If this is gibberish, please say so!
|
Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:59 pm |
|
|
numgun
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm Posts: 2932
|
Re: Factories
Shell? Aw man. No. The NEXT emitter thing. Lemme show you an example: Code: AddAmmo = AEmitter PresetName = Particle Create A ♥♥♥♥ Ak47 Mass = 1 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Coalition.rte/Devices/Rifles/SniperCasing.bmp LifeTime = 1 FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = -2 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 1 DeepCheck = 1 AddEmission = Emission EmittedParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = A Frikkin simple MOPixel with "Gold" material. InstanceName = Sniper Smoke 1 Mass = -1 //THIS MAKES YOU LOSE MONEY IF IT HITS YOU. IN THIS CASE, IT HITS THE FACTORY. ParticlesPerMinute = 1 BurstSize = 1 Spread = 0.2 MaxVelocity = -10 //NEGATIVE SPEED HERE SO THE GOLD HAX FLIES AT FACTORY. MinVelocity = -10 PushesEmitter = 0 AddEmission = Emission EmittedParticle = HDFireArm CopyOf = A Frikkin AK47 ParticlesPerMinute = 1 BurstSize = 1 //ONLY 1 AK47 plz Spread = 0.0 MaxVelocity = 1 //PLEASE KEEP THESE LOW OR YOUR GUN WILL SMASH AT CONCRETE. MinVelocity = 1 PushesEmitter = 0 EmissionEnabled = 1 EmissionsIgnoreThis = 0 BurstTriggered = 1
AddAmmo = Round PresetName = Round Factory Create A ♥♥♥♥ Ak47 Kthx ParticleCount = 1 Particle = AEmitter CopyOf = Particle Create A ♥♥♥♥ Ak47 // Shell = AEmitter // CopyOf = ---FORGET THE SHELL--- // FireVelocity = 355 FireVelocity = 1 <---------VERY IMPORTANT. LEAVE IT TO 1. YOU CAN SET THE PARTICLE VELOCITIES WITHIN THE EMITTER THIS GUN WILL FIRE. // ShellVelocity = ASDADSA Separation = 0 Okay, it sucks, but you get the point I hope. It was fun writing it btw.
|
Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:50 am |
|
|
Gedou
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:38 pm Posts: 17 Location: Prague
|
Re: Factories
Ok people I would like to ask people to make me full working thing to launch actors and basic weapons. I will think off the money thing and release it as a mod with your name on it.
|
Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:01 pm |
|
|
eternjc
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:31 pm Posts: 81
|
Re: Factories
@Gedou: Sorry, I didn't mean to highjack your topic! Check out this clone farm, since it works fairly fluidly. (Please ignore the uglier-than-dead-penguins-actors, thx.) It's using an aCrab at the moment. But, with some work, changing it to an Actor would allow for multiple units to be "bought".
I'm still working on numgums idea. But ... I'm failing somewhere -_-". Just have to test more variables so I understand CC. Use this however you want, I'm not stingy!
EDIT: @Numgum: Ok, my "shell" idea was working well (Fire's Gold pixels at varying velocities), though think I see why emitters are much better. I have the problem that my "gun" is always facing left or right. NOT down. So making negative muzzle velocity causes the bullet to fly left or right, and not vertically up to the farm. Follow?
This seems to be due to aCrab's limited firing angle, and I haven't figured out which variable changes that.
Changing the crab to an actor should clean that up all round. If I'm way off here though, just say so.
|
Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:32 pm |
|
|
|