Author |
Message |
Kowie654
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm Posts: 149 Location: In a Lab deep underground researching the secrets of tha whoop
|
Adding Glows
How do you add glows to a certain parts of a weapon
|
Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:52 pm |
|
|
3 solid
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:02 pm Posts: 1639 Location: Somewhere. Nowhere.
|
Re: Adding Glows
To add yellow glows- Use the same yellow they use in gold.
For blue- Use the cyan in the color tray (if you're using paint).
|
Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:54 pm |
|
|
Kowie654
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm Posts: 149 Location: In a Lab deep underground researching the secrets of tha whoop
|
Re: Adding Glows
so there is no coding involved in adding glows Oh wait what about green
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:59 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Adding Glows
You can't add Screen Effect glows to an HDFirearm. What you could do is attach an emitter which emits glow particles with a low lifetime.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 5:48 am |
|
|
Kowie654
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm Posts: 149 Location: In a Lab deep underground researching the secrets of tha whoop
|
Re: Adding Glows
Ooooooooh can someone mabey post an example of how this would look in a code
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:49 am |
|
|
Winterous
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:33 am Posts: 1275 Location: Elsewhere.
|
Re: Adding Glows
Wait, so do those two colours glow by default?
That seems a bit silly...
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:51 am |
|
|
Azukki
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm Posts: 1916 Location: Flint Hills
|
Re: Adding Glows
Winterous wrote: Wait, so do those two colours glow by default?
That seems a bit silly... There's three colors that do that. Golden, Light yellow, and Light Blue. It's how muzzle flashes, jet flames, and tracer rounds glow without needing some more advanced outlining outer glow effect thing.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:36 pm |
|
|
Winterous
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:33 am Posts: 1275 Location: Elsewhere.
|
Re: Adding Glows
oh, cool.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:01 pm |
|
|
Kowie654
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm Posts: 149 Location: In a Lab deep underground researching the secrets of tha whoop
|
Re: Adding Glows
Okay but can you add a green glow by using aemitters if so how
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:05 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Adding Glows
Yes.
First, you need a green glow.
Then, you need to add that glow as a screeneffect to an MOSParticle. Make the lifetime of said particle about 10. Underneath Mass, add this: "PinStrength = 10000", tabbed to the same as the other lines.
Now, make an AEmitter. Make the emission the glowing MOSParticle, with a rate of about 1000.
Go down to your HDFirearm.
AddAttachable = AEmitter CopyOf = Glow Emitter
AddAttachable is tabbed to the default gun levels, CopyOf one beyond that.
Voila. Gun will glow.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:44 pm |
|
|
Kowie654
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm Posts: 149 Location: In a Lab deep underground researching the secrets of tha whoop
|
Re: Adding Glows
Can you set which colors on the gun glows for example to set the light greens only to glow
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:53 pm |
|
|
bbbzzz234
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:33 am Posts: 374
|
Re: Adding Glows
You don't understand, only three colors in the pallete glow. If you want to make a "glow" other than that, you need to make it emit particles that LOOK like they are glowing.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:31 pm |
|
|
Azukki
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm Posts: 1916 Location: Flint Hills
|
Re: Adding Glows
Grif wrote: Yes.
First, you need a green glow.
Then, you need to add that glow as a screeneffect to an MOSParticle. Make the lifetime of said particle about 10. Underneath Mass, add this: "PinStrength = 10000", tabbed to the same as the other lines.
Now, make an AEmitter. Make the emission the glowing MOSParticle, with a rate of about 1000.
Go down to your HDFirearm.
AddAttachable = AEmitter CopyOf = Glow Emitter
AddAttachable is tabbed to the default gun levels, CopyOf one beyond that.
Voila. Gun will glow. Wouldn't MOPixels with screen effects be simpler and a bit easier on the engine, not needing sprites and all? Or maybe even putting the screen effect on a flash of the emitter, so it's just got one constant glow to worry about, instead of constantly deleting and creating more pixel/particles?
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:35 pm |
|
|
3 solid
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:02 pm Posts: 1639 Location: Somewhere. Nowhere.
|
Re: Adding Glows
Is everyone forgetting that emitters hate weapons?
E.G: Leave one in the inventory for too long and you get uberlag?
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:37 pm |
|
|
Metal Chao
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 6:04 pm Posts: 2901
|
Re: Adding Glows
Azukki wrote: Grif wrote: Yes.
First, you need a green glow.
Then, you need to add that glow as a screeneffect to an MOSParticle. Make the lifetime of said particle about 10. Underneath Mass, add this: "PinStrength = 10000", tabbed to the same as the other lines.
Now, make an AEmitter. Make the emission the glowing MOSParticle, with a rate of about 1000.
Go down to your HDFirearm.
AddAttachable = AEmitter CopyOf = Glow Emitter
AddAttachable is tabbed to the default gun levels, CopyOf one beyond that.
Voila. Gun will glow. Wouldn't MOPixels with screen effects be simpler and a bit easier on the engine, not needing sprites and all? Or maybe even putting the screen effect on a flash of the emitter, so it's just got one constant glow to worry about, instead of constantly deleting and creating more pixel/particles? I don't think that mopixels can be attachables.
|
Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:19 pm |
|
|
|