|
FAQ
• Search • Login
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 6 posts ] |
|
Author |
Message |
Jack Trades
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:40 pm Posts: 234
|
CopyOf an Actor?
I've got an actor and I want to make another one, that's exactly the same as the first actor but he should have different helmet, name and description.
Is it possible somehow reference that first actor (CopyOf?) but make changes to him (different head attachable for example) so that when I change stats (Gibs or Health for example) of the first actor they would apply to the second actor too, without me having to manually do changes to several exactly similar actors.
|
Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:08 pm |
|
|
Arcalane
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm Posts: 1609 Location: UK
|
Re: CopyOf an Actor?
Same way you CopyOf anything else. For example, the 40K mod uses lots of CopyOfs - all the Marines are based off a template, then helmets and jetpacks are modified. ex; Code: AddActor = AHuman CopyOf = Imperial Guardsman Template PresetName = Imperial Guardsman Sharpness = 1 ScriptPath = Base.rte/Actors/AI/HumanAI.lua AddToGroup = Imperial Guard Buyable = 1 GoldValue = 125 Jetpack = AEmitter CopyOf = ImperialJump ParentOffset = Vector X = -6 Y = 2 DrawAfterParent = 0 If you want to change anything, just specify the thing that's being changed and it'll overwrite whatever's in the original for the copy.
|
Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:19 pm |
|
|
Jack Trades
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:40 pm Posts: 234
|
Re: CopyOf an Actor?
That's awesome, thanks.
|
Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:56 pm |
|
|
carriontrooper
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:27 pm Posts: 813 Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia. A slice o' paradise.
|
Re: CopyOf an Actor?
A caveat; the 'template' actor shouldn't have any attachables that would be different in its child. This is because AddAttachable (as well as AddGib) does not overwrite, they add.
So, for example, you want to have different helmets on different heads: make a template head without a helmet first. So for example you have heads 1, 2, 3 and helmets A, B, C, D. Simply define a template head with the graphics of head 1. Then do the CopyOf, add the helmet A attachable. Repeat until you have 4 CopyOfs of head 1. Then do another CopyOf, this time override the spritefile and offset into that of head 2. Rinse repeat.
|
Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:18 pm |
|
|
Naxete
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:12 pm Posts: 560
|
Re: CopyOf an Actor?
carriontrooper wrote: A caveat; the 'template' actor shouldn't have any attachables that would be different in its child. This is because AddAttachable (as well as AddGib) does not overwrite, they add. Well said! same with devices, watch out with "Addinventory"s.
|
Sat Oct 22, 2011 9:39 pm |
|
|
Jack Trades
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:40 pm Posts: 234
|
Re: CopyOf an Actor?
carriontrooper wrote: A caveat; the 'template' actor shouldn't have any attachables that would be different in its child. This is because AddAttachable (as well as AddGib) does not overwrite, they add. Thanks for the warning.
|
Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:03 pm |
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 6 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|