View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 28, 2024 4:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 SpriteAnimMode. help 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:49 am
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post SpriteAnimMode. help
How would I get it so that when you "charge" a weapon it only plays the animation once?

The gun has 4 frames but when i hold down fire it acts like a minigun. It starts slow then speeds up and loops till it fires or i let go. I have messed around with the timing but It doesn't seem to help much. even if it starts slower it either fires before the animation is complete or loops it fast anyway.

An example would be a bow and drawback animation for it. Currently it draws back then up then back then up rapidly till it fires. Which just looks silly.

How would I get it to just draw back, fire, then twang forward.

I have got it to fire and twang. Its the drawback giving me issues.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:36 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 400
Location: mukilteo, wa
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
try taking a look at how its done with the Gatling gun
I had just woken up (night shift) , i miss read your post


Last edited by salt_1219 on Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:06 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
He has the animation done, he just wants it to be used once. So when you charge up the weapon, it stops animation at full charge. Did you even read the OP?


Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:21 pm
Profile WWW
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
You are not helping much either, Miggles.

Anyway so, I don't remember from where I got this but it's for the SpriteAnimMode or whatever it's called variable:

0 = NOANIM
1 = ALWAYSLOOP
2 = ALWAYSRANDOM
3 = ALWAYSPINGPONG
4 = LOOPWHENMOVING
5 = LOOPWHENOPENCLOSE
6 = PINGPONGOPENCLOSE

But from what I understand, no one can do what you want to do, so you will probably have to add some lua to it.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:38 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
No that's for Lua.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:56 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
What thing is for lua?


Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:58 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
0 = NOANIM
1 = ALWAYSLOOP
2 = ALWAYSRANDOM
3 = ALWAYSPINGPONG
4 = LOOPWHENMOVING
5 = LOOPWHENOPENCLOSE
6 = PINGPONGOPENCLOSE


Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:14 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
Ahh...

So, this can't be done through ini?


Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:18 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:49 am
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
So how would I do it from lua? And what does ping pong mean?

In those variables I mean


Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:50 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
Lizardheim wrote:
0 = NOANIM
1 = ALWAYSLOOP
2 = ALWAYSRANDOM
3 = ALWAYSPINGPONG
4 = LOOPWHENMOVING
5 = LOOPWHENOPENCLOSE
6 = PINGPONGOPENCLOSE
Those can also be accessed through .ini for some things, though. See: base.rte brain case and door engines. Or does .ini's SpriteAnimMode use a different set of modes?


Ping pong is when it goes from start, to finish, cycles in reverse back to start, and repeats. Imagine the ball in a game of ping pong, and the positions where it hits the paddles are the first and last of the frames.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:49 am
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
Ah i see,

So what Im getting is that it is impossible for me to make it look nice even with lua or a workaround?

Guess ill just mess with the timing till it looks ok most of the time or I'll say it is like a super soaker and you have to pump it to shoot lol


Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
Well, last I knew, and this was in B24, mind you, devices held by actors had their frame determined through hard coding, and if you changed it through Lua, it would instantly be reverted to the hard coded value. (which was determined by your .ini settings, by default, frame 0 was idle, and frame 1 was the frame when you just fired.)

Because held devices and attachables have been made so much more accessible through Lua in b25-1, though, I would not be surprised if this had been made more accessible too.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:08 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:49 am
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
I don't know how to lua though lol.

I could post the weapon though if someone want to take a look at it


Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 1972
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
I'd post it. I am sure a lua god can help out. :) This forum seems to have many of them.


Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 400
Location: mukilteo, wa
Reply with quote
Post Re: SpriteAnimMode. help
if you do get this to work let me know, I had a werewolf that i wanted to transform from human to wolf but the animation kept looping.


Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:45 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.044s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]