View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 29, 2024 6:34 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Trouble Moving Scene to Individual File 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Florida, United States
Reply with quote
Post Trouble Moving Scene to Individual File
Hello, everyone. I am working on a new scene, and I had it in Base.rte, with all the other scenes. I finished it to my liking, and so tried moving it to its own .rte folder so I could upload it. However, once I moved it Cortex Command started freaking out. Here is the error message:

Code:
Abortion in file .\System\Reader.ccp, line 534, because;
Failed to open included data file in Space.rte/Scene.ini at line 42!
The last frame has been dumped to 'abortscreen.bmp'


All the (four) files are inside the folder Space.rte. Space.bmp (a background image), Space_Terrain (the terrain image), Index.ini, and Scene.ini. The contents of both are below:

Scene.ini
Code:
// Space

AddScene = Scene
   PresetName = Space
   Description = An asteroid field filled with gold. Good luck navigating.
   LocationOnPlanet = Vector
      X = 192
      Y = -100
   // Gravity acceleration, m/s^2
   GlobalAcceleration = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 0

   // Terrain SceneLayer
   Terrain = SLTerrain
      PresetName = Space Terrain
      BitmapFile = ContentFile
         Path = Space.rte/Space_Terrain.bmp
      WrapX = 0
      WrapY = 0
      ScrollRatio = Vector
         X = 1.0
         Y = -1.0
      BackgroundTexture = ContentFile
         Path = Base.rte/Scenes/Textures/DirtDark.bmp


AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      PresetName = Space
      AddToGroup = Far Backdrops
      DrawTransparent = 0
      WrapX = 1
      WrapY = 0
      ScrollRatio = Vector
      X = 0.01
      Y = 12000
   BitmapFile = ContentFile
      Path = Space.rte/Space.bmp

      
   // Team Landing Zones
   AddArea = Area
      AddBox = Box
         Corner = Vector
            X = 0
            Y = 20
         Width = 10000
         Height = 60
      Name = LZ Team 1
   AddArea = Area
      AddBox = Box
         Corner = Vector
            X = 0
            Y = 20
         Width = 10000
         Height = 60
      Name = LZ Team 2
   AddArea = Area
      AddBox = Box
         Corner = Vector
            X = 0
            Y = 20
         Width = 10000
         Height = 60
      Name = LZ Team 3
   AddArea = Area
      AddBox = Box
         Corner = Vector
            X = 0
            Y = 20
         Width = 10000
         Height = 60
      Name = LZ Team 4
      
      
   //Free Landing Zone
   AddArea = Area
      AddBox = Box
         Corner = Vector
            X = 0
            Y = 10
         Width = 4800
         Height = 60
      Name = LZ All


Index.ini
Code:
DataModule
   IncludeFile = Space.rte/Scene.ini


Does anyone know what the error is? Thank you for any help here!


Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:10 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Florida, United States
Reply with quote
Post Re: Trouble Moving Scene to Individual File
I really could use some help here, guys. Does anyone know what's wrong?


Thu Aug 11, 2011 3:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 209
Reply with quote
Post Re: Trouble Moving Scene to Individual File
AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer looks like it might be tabbed wrong.
It should be one tab in rather than fully to the left.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Florida, United States
Reply with quote
Post Re: Trouble Moving Scene to Individual File
Well, changing the tabs didn't work, but I replaced the background layer with the one from Grasslands and it ran fine. The problem, therefore, is in my attempt to make a custom background layer. So, I made my own Backdrops.ini file, made my custom background there, and added a copy of it to my scene.

Code:
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Space


Cortex Command didn't recognize my new background, despite it being referenced in my Index file and formatted exactly like the default ones, so I simply checked another user-made scene (Trashlands) to see how they made that work. I simply have to make a copy of an existing background layer and change the bitmap, along with a few other tidbits, like so.

Code:
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Sky Layer
      ScrollRatio = Vector
         X = 0.01
         Y = 4032
      BitmapFile = ContentFile
         Path = Space.rte/Space.bmp


Thank you for your help, Asatruer. You helped point me in the right direction, instead of flopping about like a fish out of water :P
I appreciate it!


Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:19 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.071s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]