View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 29, 2024 6:14 am



Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 I'm flabbergasted. 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post I'm flabbergasted.
I'm trying to get into modding. As one of the first babysteps I could take, I have made myself a pistol more or less from scratch.
I think I got everything right, but I've been getting an error upon the game trying to load the file. It says that it can't match line 1 of the gun's .ini file, which is "AddAmmo = Round".

Anyone know how to fix this? I'm probably missing something incredibly simple which will make me facepalm once it's pointed out.


Attachments:
Poonk.rte.zip [108.48 KiB]
Downloaded 198 times


Last edited by Macaroni on Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:34 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Put the .ini in an attachment. (In your OP not in the code :P)


Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:25 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Miggles wrote:
Put the .ini in an attachment. (In your OP not in the code :P)


Learn to read, first of all he said the gun already had an .ini.
Second the game wouldn't even read the file if it WASN'T an ini.
And Third help if you actually know what your talking about.


Edit: My mistake. Misread.

@ OP

This issue cannot be resolved without the code/.rte

What i think is happening is that you may have mispelled or wrong syntax.
Post code?


Last edited by dragonxp on Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:02 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
dragonxp wrote:
Miggles wrote:
Put the .ini in an attachment. (In your OP not in the code :P)


Learn to read, first of all he said the gun already had an .ini.
Second the game wouldn't even read the file if it WASN'T an ini.
And Third help if you actually know what your talking about.

@ OP

This issue cannot be resolved without the code/.rte

What i think is happening is that you may have mispelled or wrong syntax.
Post code?


Dude, calm down, he actually meant that he should "Put the .ini in an attachment" as in "Attach the code to the post".

And yeah, the only way to see why there is an error is seeing the entire script, because that line as it reads is right.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Asklar wrote:
dragonxp wrote:
Miggles wrote:
Put the .ini in an attachment. (In your OP not in the code :P)


Learn to read, first of all he said the gun already had an .ini.
Second the game wouldn't even read the file if it WASN'T an ini.
And Third help if you actually know what your talking about.

@ OP

This issue cannot be resolved without the code/.rte

What i think is happening is that you may have mispelled or wrong syntax.
Post code?


Dude, calm down, he actually meant that he should put the ini in an attachment as in "Attach the code to the post".

And yeah, the only way to see why there is an error is seeing the entire script, because that line as it reads is right.


Oh i see now, sorry. :-(

Either way, do as he suggests op.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:06 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Ah, sorry. I've edited the first post now :P


Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:32 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Code:
AddAmmo = Round
   PresetName = Round Poonk
...
AddAmmo = Round
   CopyOf = Round DE


I don't know if this will fix anything yet, but, you are not copying the correct particle. The CopyOf should be CopyOf = Round Poonk.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Well first, your index.ini needs to sue tabs, not 3 spaces.

Also in your Poonk.ini file you have Round DE even though you didn't defien this round, use Round Poonk and Tracer Poonk.

As in remember to rename your preset names.

Also you cannot define PresetName = Particle because Particle is a class definition therefor the game bugs out.
I rename it to Particle Poonk or something else.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:41 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
I tried making all the changes you guys suggested, renaming everything from "DE" to Poonk. However, I still get this very confusing first line. :???:

Image

Here's all the changes I made again.


Attachments:
Poonk.rte.zip [108.48 KiB]
Downloaded 168 times
Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:18 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Code:
AddAmmo = Round Poonk


That line is wrong. And it's the first one. It should be AddAmmo = Round.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:22 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
I've tried that a couple of times already. A simple AddAmmo = Round doesn't cause the thing to be fixed either.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 1198
Location: Sydney
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
Your index uses spaces, and slightly incorrect tabbing.
Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Poonk
   IconFile = ContentFile
   Path = Poonk.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
    IncludeFile = Poonk.rte/Devices/Devices.ini

Should be:
Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Poonk
   IconFile = ContentFile
      Path = Poonk.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
   IncludeFile = Poonk.rte/Devices/Devices.ini

Using tabs.

Secondly, when adding something, it has to be of a preset type, eg Actor, ACrab, Round, etc.
AddAmmo = Round Poonk is not recognized by the game. You can define it as Round Poonk in the presetname, as you did afterwards.
Just keep it as AddAmmo = Round for now.

Your sprite is also not in palette, and the recoil from the gun causes it's firer to explode :P
Also, have a look at this to fix the offsets. Sprite is a tad large also.

Welcome to the community!

EDIT: Partially Ninja'd by Asklar :P


Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:28 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
I found the problem. The tabbing in the index.ini was wrong, like suggested. :)
I'll fix the rest of the problems and continue my learning.


Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:14 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
When changing mass of a round (adds recoil, but it can also add power depending) and not using an emitter, it's not a good idea to make the variable larger than a decimal. Most of the time, anything bigger than 1 will hurt your actor more than the enemy.


Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:27 am
Profile WWW
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: I'm flabbergasted.
There are to tricks to make a gun damage a lot:

-Make it fire stupidly heavy particles (and fire them with an emitter)
-Make it fire a lot of particles (usually 6-7 are enough to kill vanilla stuff with a headshot)

The pros of the first method are that you can regulate terrain rape pretty easy, can hit many actors if the round is powerful enough, even if the round is slowed down it can make a lot of damage, but the thing is that you have to make the particle be fired with an emitter or the gun will be useless (overly heavy particle = overly heavy recoil).

The pros of the second method is mainly that it is easier to program and won't generate a dangerously powerful gun.


Sun Jul 17, 2011 4:00 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.079s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]