|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 10 posts ] |
|
Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Author |
Message |
Omeletter
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm Posts: 36 Location: Earth
|
Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Hi everybody, I'm planning to make my own skirmish defence mode, you know, survive against infinite amount of enemies? Mods containing factions on here also have this mode, for example R.E.T.A.R.D.S. have "RETARDS Onslaught" which is Skirmish Defence, but with RETARDS. All I need help with is the enemy spawning. I looked at the Retards' file, called Activities. Quote: AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket CopyOf = M Drop Cradle AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone This means that those Rogue micro drones would be sent off by the RETARDS' Drop pod drone bundle. I want to make a skirmish defence (for myself) involving S.A.W Units, but I have no clue how to place SAW soldiers? I don't know what is the "CopyOf" and "AddInventory" actually is. Help on this would be appreciated.
|
Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:08 pm |
|
|
Omeletter
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm Posts: 36 Location: Earth
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Thanks. After toying around a bit I couldn't find the IDs of his dudes. I used simple drop pod of Vanilla. My Activities.ini file. Quote: //Made by Omeletter
AddActivity = GABaseDefense InstanceName = SAW Defence Description = Defend your brain against infinite waves of SAW Units! TeamCount = 2 PlayerCount = 1 TeamOfPlayer1 = 0 FundsOfTeam1 = 20000 CPUTeam = 1 Difficulty = 3 SpawnIntervalEasiest = 24000 SpawnIntervalHardest = 3000
AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket CopyOf = Drop Crate AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Light Soldier The Drop Pod works very fine, but the "Light Soldier" I cannot find his exact ID anywhere! I don't know what name to use. I looked in his file, and there was another ID called "Light soldier base" or something, it didn't work either. Drop pod, works as its vanilla, and I easily found the "ID" of it. Any help where to look for the dude's and the dropship's ID? I looked in their files, it gives me a loooong list of IDs and gibs' IDs. Edit: If I leave only a drop pod there, it gives me an error "line one, blah, blah in SAW.rte/Sounds.ini Line 1" Nothing wrong in there, I checked. I will try to work that out, but the guy's ID and the DropShip ID is my main priority.
|
Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:56 pm |
|
|
Roast Veg
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm Posts: 4521 Location: Constant motion
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
This is all fine and dandy, but really we should be teaching people to use Lua activities now. Look in Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/SkirmishDefence.lua, and use it to make your own more random skirmish. Tou will also need an .ini that reads: Code: AddActivity = GAScripted PresetName = SAW Defence Description = Defend your brain against infinite waves of SAW Units! TeamCount = 2 PlayerCount = 1 CPUTeam = 1 ScriptPath = SAW.rte/SAW Defence.lua
|
Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:11 pm |
|
|
r_b_bergstrom
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:37 pm Posts: 2
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Any chance someone would be willing to put together a template or tutorial on how to make .lua activities? Maybe something like Azukki's excellent modding templates? Roast Veg's post makes it look like it should be easy and simple to make this work. But I've tried it, and I keep getting errors. I've got a file called Endless.ini that calls up a file called SkirmDef.lua. At the moment, SkirmDef is identical to the SkirmishDefense.lua in Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/, I haven't even gotten to the step of modifying it yet. But when I try to run it like this, It crashes on the final line of Endless.ini. "Could not match property in CustomFight.rte/Endless.ini at line 7." Then it says "Reading of a preset instance failed". I'm not 100% certain either of those errors means, to be honest. I've been over the tiny number of lines of code in Endless.ini, and they're identical to what's in Roast Veg's post, and can't figure out why it's not working. After a few failed attempts and some poking around I noticed that Control Chip Hunt and Exploration use ScriptFile instead of ScriptPath, so I tried that instead at one point, but it didn't fix it. Whatever the problem is, I'm just not seeing it. Index.ini says this: Quote: DataModule ModuleName = Custom Fights IncludeFile = CustomFight.rte/Endless.ini and Endless.ini says this: Quote: AddActivity = GAScripted PresetName = Endless Description = Skirmish Defense with different weapon drops TeamCount = 2 PlayerCount = 1 CPUTeam = 1 ScriptPath = CustomFight.rte/Scripts/SkirmDef.lua SkirmDef.lua is literally identical to the SkirmishDefense.lua in my Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/ Any help, advice, or template you can provide to this total Noob would be very appreciated. I'm really puzzled as to why it's not working.
|
Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:14 pm |
|
|
Omeletter
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm Posts: 36 Location: Earth
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Ok, all I wanted to know is what is their NAME to put in to the Activities.ini. Do I use "Preset Name" A file name or the name of them in game? It freaking gives me an error every time I pick a name, it says line blah blah cannot be copied from, because I DON'T KNOW the name. I've been trying to fix that for about 2 hours. Any help on that? When you mod and make a skirmish mod what name do you put in a line that goes like. AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket CopyOf = This causes the problem AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = this too AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = And thisso what are the names you have to put in, or where to look for them?
|
Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:06 pm |
|
|
Roast Veg
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm Posts: 4521 Location: Constant motion
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
It's just the PresetName, but it has to be completely correct, case and all.
|
Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:22 pm |
|
|
Omeletter
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm Posts: 36 Location: Earth
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
I used preset name a lot, still doesn't work. I copied exact letter by letter. Is it just me or there is something wrong with the mod?
When I search I search for Ahuman and copy the preset name, in my case now it was Heavy soldier. Didn't work. I think that is a problem with mod.
|
Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:30 pm |
|
|
Asatruer
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm Posts: 209
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Either "Light Soldier" or "Soldier base light" should work just fine, but you should probably stick with "Light Soldier" Also make sure you are indenting properly, it is not: Code: AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket CopyOf = Drop Crate AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Light Soldier AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = RET-2 AddInventory = HeldDevice CopyOf = KEDD Mk1 but rather: Code: AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket CopyOf = Drop Crate AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Light Soldier AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = RET-2 AddInventory = HeldDevice CopyOf = KEDD Mk1
|
Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:39 am |
|
|
Omeletter
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm Posts: 36 Location: Earth
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Nonsequitorian wrote: Just so you know, it ain't: Code: AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = PresetName = <Name> but: Code: AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = <Name> Just makin' sure. Yeah, I'm doing it like you showed in this post. To find people's ID to actually put in to the activities.ini I go into the Light Soldier's files and then search for "Ahuman" and when I do find it, I search for something like "GoldCost" or whatever I searched for, so if the unit's name I copied is working in the shopping cart menu ingame, why doesn't it work in activities.ini?
|
Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:21 pm |
|
|
Asatruer
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm Posts: 209
|
Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
What does not working mean in your case? Does the game crash loading the activities.ini, and if so, what is the error text? Does the game load just fine but the "SAW Defence" does not show up in the Select Activities drop down menu? Does the the map load but no drop crates filled with Light Soldiers ever fall from the sky?
In anycase, using your top block of text and the AddAttackerSpawn block of text I posted the skirmish works flawlessly for me.
|
Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:22 pm |
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 10 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|