Author |
Message |
teh somebody
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:22 pm Posts: 156 Location: Finland
|
Weird code issue (nooby)
So, I've tried to add more gibs to a brain actor (Pelian Armys brain). I copyed a gib line and added it, then modiflyed it a bit and started CC. RTE aborted Abortation in file .\System\Reader.cpp, line 530,because: Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in PelianArmy.rte/Brain/Brain.ini at line 944! and the abortscreen stuff There is the brain file where is the problem,and the line where is the problem is, is not the new gib line...
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:55 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
Did you do the tabs and everything?
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:37 pm |
|
|
mrah
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:58 am Posts: 104
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
Quote: Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in PelianArmy.rte/Brain/Brain.ini at line 944! Usually when I get an error like that, it means I'm trying to reference a type of object that won't work for the situation; for example, if I accidently typed in "AddEmitter = AHuman" instead of "AddEmitter = AEmitter"
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:45 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something. if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it.
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:47 pm |
|
|
teh somebody
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:22 pm Posts: 156 Location: Finland
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
TrouserDemon wrote: Did you do the tabs and everything? Yes mrah wrote: Usually when I get an error like that, it means I'm trying to reference a type of object that won't work for the situation; for example, if I accidently typed in "AddEmitter = AHuman" instead of "AddEmitter = AEmitter" Well I added a line where the gib should be ACRocket (which is the P.A. PlanetKiller) Code: AddGib = ACRocket CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller Offset = Vector X = -2.5 Y = -4 BUT the error is in different line!! Here is the error line, the error is that Offest = Vector -line Code: AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSRotating CopyOf = Brain Gib A Offset = Vector X = 0.5 Y = 0 Siric wrote: The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something. if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it. I think the name should not be the problem.. (and it's even the default name)
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:10 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
teh somebody wrote: Siric wrote: The only thing i see wrong is the brain is still named 'P.A. Brain Case', Try naming it 'P.A. Brain Crab' or something. if you still get the error after that, i suggest re-coding it. I think the name should not be the problem.. (and it's even the default name)I have had it where the name is the problem before.
|
Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:29 pm |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
Cortex command is being a bit irritating and complaining about the wrong line. the line it's talking about is fine, I think it's the whole trying to gib a rocket, but I'm not sure.
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:07 am |
|
|
teh somebody
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:22 pm Posts: 156 Location: Finland
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
Ok, I don't really get the problem but could it be at the script don't "like" new lines or it's using something from other lines and the new line would confuse the whole script? I haven't delete any line.
And please download the file and put it to the PelianArmy.rte (make sure you have a clean copy) and check what is wrong...
And yes I'm not a coding master
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:07 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
no, you can gib rockets. heck, phoenix bot is based on that. wierd error. comment stuff out until it loads, then isolate where the error is.
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:44 am |
|
|
teh somebody
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:22 pm Posts: 156 Location: Finland
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
I've tried to take lines off but then the error pops out on a other place.. And when you comment out/delete lines you will lose gibs from your actor or what ever.
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:27 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
teh somebody wrote: Code: AddGib = ACRocket CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller Offset = Vector X = -2.5 Y = -4 Ah-HA! i think i found the problem, Make it this. Code: AddGib = Gib GibParticle = ACRocket CopyOf = P.A. PlanetKiller Offset = Vector X = -2.5 Y = -4 I can't believe that I missed that the first time...
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:40 pm |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
i cant believe it either. ><
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:31 am |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
yep, that'd do it.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:35 am |
|
|
teh somebody
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:22 pm Posts: 156 Location: Finland
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
F**K!!! Now it's says the copy hasn't been definied and I could bet 1 000 000 S at i have wrote the presetname of the planetkiller right!! So what the f**k is the problem now, the script is now same how guy above has wrote it... AND YES I'M A NOOBIEST NOOB HERE WHO TRIES TO CODE
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:12 pm |
|
|
Siric
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:57 pm Posts: 240 Location: Out there, among the stars.
|
Re: Weird code issue (nooby)
teh somebody wrote: F**K!!! Now it's says the copy hasn't been definied and I could bet 1 000 000 S at i have wrote the presetname of the planetkiller right!! So what the f**k is the problem now, the script is now same how guy above has wrote it... AND YES I'M A NOOBIEST NOOB HERE WHO TRIES TO CODE Calm down a little, is it loading after the planetkiller? if it is try renaming the crab if it still doesn't load.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:14 pm |
|
|
|