View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jan 06, 2025 11:08 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 what am I doing wrong? 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:23 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post what am I doing wrong?
I'm trying to make a gun but every time I solve one problem a new one appears. The error I'm getting this time says "Could not match property in MyMod.rte/MyNewGun at line 6!". Could someone tell me where the problem is, because I Sure as heck cant figure it out.
Code:
AddDevice = HDFirearm
   InstanceName = Hello World
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = MyMod.rte/MyNewImage.bmp
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   Magazine = Magazine
      CopyOf = Magazine Pistol
   RateOfFire = 100


Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:53 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:07 pm
Posts: 112
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
Is this really all of the code you've got? This is missing loads of variables that I usually see in weapons, most of which are vital. Take a look at Azukki's mod templates, they should have all the variables you need.

So to answer the question of where your problem is, it's nowhere. Along with 75% of your code.


Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:23 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
According to Lord Tim's "Super Duper New Person Guide" this should be the bare minimum amount of code that I need.


Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:56 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
Doing the bare minimum seems silly to me. I'd rather have to load up a little more code that I'd be currently be ignoring than have to go look for it somewhere else once I would want to change it.

But I guess to a newcomer, that could be a bit overwhelming.

If you rar'd and uploaded your mod for us to take a look, we could be more helpful.


Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:28 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:23 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
Here it is.


Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:02 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
Okay, here's the thing. Tim's tutorial says 3 spaces work as a tab, but really, using tabs is far superior, as it's simpler and completely reliable. If what Tim says were completely true, then your mod should have loaded. If it weren't true at all, it wouldn't have loaded as much as it did. Spacing is dodgy, use tabs.
Spacing is what's making this not load; replace each set of three spaces before the variables with tabs, and it works.

Code:
AddDevice = HDFirearm
[tab]InstanceName = Hello World
[tab]GetsHitByMOs = 1
[tab]SpriteFile = ContentFile
[tab][tab]FilePath = MyMod.rte/MyNewImage.bmp
[tab]AtomGroup = AtomGroup
[tab][tab]AutoGenerate = 1
[tab][tab]Material = Material
[tab][tab][tab]CopyOf = Military Stuff
[tab][tab]Resolution = 2
[tab][tab]Depth = 0
[tab]Magazine = Magazine
[tab][tab]CopyOf = Magazine Pistol
[tab]RateOfFire = 100


Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:31 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:23 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: what am I doing wrong?
I cant thank you enough. :grin:


Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:58 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.058s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]