Author |
Message |
Flytrap
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm Posts: 5
|
Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
After making a few gun mods and playing some other mods i found out that you can actually edit the activities.ini file, but after countless attempts at following instructions right down to the letter, i end up always getting a error when i try to add any new spawning actors.
So far the only thing ive acomplished is getting the drop ship interval time to go to whatever i want, but thats it.
Ive tried doing very small changes to the activities like just spawning new actors from the sky as well as adding them to drop ships, but i always get the error = system/reader.cc line 199 or line 31 something something lol.
Ive tried editing just the activites in base.rte without changing any index files , and with useing any mods, ive ive tried editing index files with mods, any every other possible combination.
But when it comes down to editing the activites to spawn new dudes it just cant load it.....
Is there something is settings.ini that i have to change?
Anyone know why its doing this? Does anyone know of instructions for editing the activities.ini that has worked for them?
Thanks
|
Sun May 18, 2008 9:54 pm |
|
|
Sixteen
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:29 am Posts: 400
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
What exactly is the error? We can't help you any other way.
Unless you post the mods you want to put in activities, then I'll give you step by step instructions. Not doing the whole thing for you, though. The best way to learn is to do.
|
Sun May 18, 2008 10:29 pm |
|
|
Flytrap
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm Posts: 5
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
i don't want to necessarily add any mods to it, im only looking to make the aftifical intelligence better primarily by adding more actors and weapons to enemy dropships. the error i reicieve deoends on the code i edited in the activities.ini this is what it usually looks like though: RTE Aborted(X_X) Abortian in file .\system\Reader.cpp. line 493 because: Could not match property in base.rte\Activities.ini at line 142! The Last frame has been dumped to abortscreen.bmp then i click the ok button and CC closes Does anyone have Deadly Cortex command version 1? im curious to see if it will work. thnks
|
Mon May 19, 2008 12:03 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
Post the Activities.ini that is giving you trouble.
For example, what is on line 142?
|
Mon May 19, 2008 12:09 am |
|
|
Flytrap
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm Posts: 5
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
whatever line it says something is wrong with, it is never near any other segment of code i added or edited.
The only thing i changed in my activities was th number of robot the dropship landed. For example heres a segment a code
AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1 AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = SMG AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Pistol AddInventory = HeldDevice CopyOf = Riot Shield AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Medium Digger
i changed it to
AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1 AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = SMG AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Pistol AddInventory = HeldDevice CopyOf = Riot Shield AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Medium Digger
ect... all i did was copy paste the addiventory of the solier. ive tried doing this and a million other small changes in every posssible combination, nomatter what it still crashes.
|
Mon May 19, 2008 2:12 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
Post it in [code] tags, I'm almost positive the problem is with your tabbing.
That and the fact that you have no idea how to nest.
|
Mon May 19, 2008 2:14 am |
|
|
Flytrap
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm Posts: 5
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
I might know what a nest is if there was a detailed turturiol easy enough for a retard like me to understand. lol
but seriously i need help lol
|
Mon May 19, 2008 2:24 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
POST IT IN CODE TAGS. And nesting is what you have to do to assign inventory correctly. Code: AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1 AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = AHuman CopyOf = Soldier Light AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = SMG AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Pistol AddInventory = HeldDevice CopyOf = Riot Shield AddInventory = HDFirearm CopyOf = Medium Digger That is literally telling the game to make three soldier lights, and then the third one should have an smg, a pistol, a riot shield, and a medium digger. What you have to do is this: Code: <tab>AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip <tab><tab>CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
<tab><tab>AddInventory = AHuman <tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Soldier Light <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = SMG <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Pistol <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HeldDevice <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Riot Shield <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Medium Digger
<tab><tab>AddInventory = AHuman <tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Soldier Light <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = SMG <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Pistol <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HeldDevice <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Riot Shield <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Medium Digger
<tab><tab>AddInventory = AHuman <tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Soldier Light <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = SMG <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Pistol <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HeldDevice <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Riot Shield <tab><tab><tab>AddInventory = HDFirearm <tab><tab><tab><tab>CopyOf = Medium Digger If you convert the <tabs> to actual tabs (make sure to use the tab key, not the spacebar), then that code should work.
|
Mon May 19, 2008 2:29 am |
|
|
Flytrap
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm Posts: 5
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
It works , i love you lol, honestally i did not know that you had to tab, because ive been editing starcraft for years , with which there is no need to tab. thanks alot
|
Mon May 19, 2008 3:19 am |
|
|
bbbzzz234
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:33 am Posts: 374
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
never, ever assume that moding in one game is ANYTHING AT ALL like modding in another. EVER.
|
Mon May 19, 2008 9:15 pm |
|
|
Aspect
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:35 am Posts: 383
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
i just want to comment that this is one of the funniest topic headings I've seen in a while
Oh, and this one guy, Sir Boyle Roche once said that, "A man could not be in two places at the same time unless he were a bird." Truly insightful. A further investigation reveals that he also said, "While I write this letter, I have a pistol in one hand and a sword in the other." Also, "I told you to make on longer than the other, and instead you have made one shorter than the other."
What a guy.
|
Tue May 20, 2008 3:29 am |
|
|
Caelas
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:04 am Posts: 336
|
Re: Activities.ini...im going to kill myself
bbbzzz234 wrote: never, ever assume that moding in one game is ANYTHING AT ALL like modding in another. EVER. But its a good way to learn.
|
Wed May 21, 2008 12:15 am |
|
|
|