View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 29, 2024 5:47 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Device Damage? 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Device Damage?
I'm making a quick pistol mod (just trying some stuff)

And I'm looking for the damage a gun does, do you have to look at the Ammo part of the pistol, or the pistol itself?

Thanks in advance,

Nitrone

EDIT:

Let me rephrase, what piece of code "commands" (lack of a better word) how much damage a bullet/projectile does?


Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 94
Reply with quote
Post Re: Device Damage?
Changing the damage isn't like changing a single variable. What you have to do is make a new type of bullet for the gun to fire.

to change the damage you can edit variables like
FireVelocity = (how fast the bullet travels)
Sharpness = (how 'sharp' the bullet is)
Mass = (how heavy the bullet is. This also changes the amount of kickback from the gun)

If you haven't already, make a new .ini in your mod's .rte and call it something like 'ammo.ini'. Look in the base.rte for a file of the same name and scroll down to the area called 'rounds' amd copy one of the rounds' code and copy it into the new .ini. Change the variables a bit and copy the file path into the index.ini of your mod. Make sure this file path is above the gun's otherwise the game won't understand what the round you just made is.


Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 253
Location: In the house next door, eating your neighbors.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Device Damage?
Their is no "damage" variable for bullets. The damage an actor takes from a bullet is mostly determined by the strength of the actors armor/skin, the speed of the bullet, the sharpness of the bullet (Imagine blunt knife/ sharp knife), and the weight of the bullet. The game calculates what would the damage be with the variables you put in.


Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:02 pm
Posts: 1639
Location: Somewhere. Nowhere.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Device Damage?
There is one way to up the damage, but not to lower it.

Change separation in the bullet code to 1 or 0, then change the number of particles. 4 or more should give a kill, but I haven't tested it in a while.


Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Device Damage?
Ok, thanks alot for all the reply's!

Ill filddle around with those things and see what happens.


Sat Feb 23, 2008 5:45 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:45 pm
Posts: 545
Location: Underground... >_> ... <_< ... lurking ...
Reply with quote
Post Re: Device Damage?
What you need to have in mind is in CC there is no 1-type-damage.
You can kill those clones with lots of types of damage. Sharp damage, gib damage, splash damage, mass damage and etc...


Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.034s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]